ICC - International Code Council
Skip to main content
Join ICC

Your ICC Account

Bookmark and Share

Please Read: 2014 and 2015 Program Changes 

ICC Certification and Testing will be making program changes to more closely align with the values and goals of ICC, as well as continuing to maintain the validity, fairness, reliability, and credibility of your exam programs. Please take a few minutes to read through the list of upcoming changes, and let us know if you have questions.

Here’s a quick look at what’s upcoming:

  • Code year basis of exams in 2014/2015:
    • 2006: National Certification exams based on the 2006 editions of the International Codes will continue to be offered via paper-and-pencil only in specific states and under certain conditions through the end of 2014; as of January 1, 2015, exams based on the 2006 I-codes will not be available in any form. The states in which these exams will be offered are Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas. Please email us at certexam@iccsafe.org or call us at 1-888-422-7233, ext. 5524 to find out if you can test on the 2006 codes.
    • 2009: National Certification exams based on the 2009 editions of the International Codes will continue to be offered via computer-based testing through June 2015, with exceptions noted in the Examination Information Bulletin. 2009-based exams will also be available via paper-and-pencil testing until further notice.
    • 2012: National Certification exams based on the 2012 editions of the International Codes will be offered via both paper-and-pencil and computer-based testing throughout 2015 and beyond.
    • 2015: On January 1, 2015, National Certification exams based on the 2015 editions of the International Codes will launch via paper-and-pencil testing; on July 1, 2015, these exams will also be available via computer-based testing.
  • Exam changes effective January 1, 2014:
    • Exams based on the California Codes (ICC/CALBO exams) will be updated from the 2010 to the 2013 editions. CALBO exams taken through December 31, 2013, will be based on the 2010 editions.
  • Program changes in 2014/2015:
    • On January 1, 2014, the candidate appeals process will be significantly changed, to allow Certification and Testing to focus resources on those candidates who have a justifiable concern. The current policy can be found in the National Certification Exam Information Bulletin, and allows a three-step process at no charge, to be initiated within 90 days of failing an exam. Starting January 1, a mandatory $100.00 fee will be required when filing a formal challenge of a failed exam, and this initial challenge must take place within 30 days of receipt of your exam results. We will continue to post updated forms and information about the process changes over the coming weeks.
    • Options for attaining continuing education units (CEUs), as well as the number of CEUs required for the number of certifications you hold, are being revised. Learn why ICC is making this change and view the new methods for obtaining CEUs.
    • Modules (exams) required for both the Certified Building Official (CBO) and Certified Fire Marshal (CFM) designations will be changed; watch the ICC website for more detailed information as it is finalized.
    • Certified Code Official designations will be revised to more accurately reflect the intent of the combination certifications; we’ll notify affected individuals within the next few months.
  • Please note that the launch of electronic calculators built into your exam has been delayed until a later time. Watch the ICC website for a new roll-out date.

If you have questions or feedback about any of these changes, please contact us by e-mail at certexam@iccsafe.org or by phone at 888-ICC-SAFE (888-422-7233), ext. 5524.

Code Official Institute - December 2014
2015 I-Codes