## ANSI ACCREDITED STANDARDS COMMITTEE A117

Secretariat: International Code Council (ICC)

500 New Jersey Avenue, NW, 6th Floor, Washington, DC 20001-2070

[P] 1-888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233); [F] (202) 783-2348

Chair: Kenneth M. Schoonover, PE

Vice Chair: Secretary: Jay

Jay Woodward

# **ANSI ASC A117 Meeting Minutes (Tentative)**

## August 19, 2009 - Meeting by Teleconference

## Those Present on the August 19, 2009 Teleconference Meeting:

The following organizations and individual members of the committee, and guests were present for the meeting.

### Principal representatives:

Todd Andersen - Individual

Patricia Beattie – ACB

Billie Louise Bentzen - AERBVI

Brian Black - NEII

Kevin Brinkman – AEMA

David Cooper - SMA

Robert Evans - ASPE

Larry Fleming – USDA

Allan Fraser - NFPA

Marilyn Golden - DREDF

Gina Hilberry – UCPA

Cheryl Kent - HUD

Robert Lynch - BIAA

Dominic Marinelli - USA

Dr. William Marletta - ASSE

Marsha Mazz – ATBCB

Samantha McAskill - ASID

Ron Nickson - NMHC

Steve Orlowski - NAHB

Kim Paarlberg - ICC

Jake Pauls - Individual

Larry Perry - BOMA

Hope Reed - NMGCD

Ed Roether - Individual

John Salmen – Individual

Shoshana Shamberg - AOTA

Ken Schoonover – Individual

Michael Tierney - BHMA

Sharon Toji - HLAA

Curt Wiehle - NCSBCS

Hale Zukas - WID

#### **Alternate representatives:**

Rosaline Crawford - NAD

Bill Downs - USDA

Bill Dundas – ISA

Phil Hahn - ICC

Tom Heiderer – MCDPS George Kappenhagen - NEII Tricia Mason – LPA Jack McNamara – NEMA Frank Menendez - PVA Robert Murphy - AEMA Don Surrena – NAHB Stephanie Thienel - IAAPA Mary Winkler - ASSE

## **Designees:** (served as representatives for all or part of the meeting)

Debbie Grubb – ACB Edwina Juillet – WID

### Members not represented:

ABA, AHLA, AIA, ASTC, PMI, SEGD, George McAllister

### Guests:

Brad (unknown last name) – (believe he was with Tom Eberhardy)
Brian Blagnete Tom Eberhardy Thomas Fodor – DOJ
Hoyt Jeter
Zita Johnson-Betts – DOJ
Erich Kohring Matt Lesher
Robert Mackie - DOJ
Joshua Rucker

## Staff:

Jay Woodward – ICC Secretariat Ed Wirtschoreck – ICC manager of standards

## Attendance (daily report)

Organization	I.C.	Aug 09
		19th
ABA	ВО	
ACB	CU	
AEMA	PD	
AERBVI	Р	
AHLA	ВО	
AIA	Р	
AOTA	Р	
ASID	Р	
ASPE	Р	
ASSE	Р	
ASTC	Р	
ATBCB	R	

ВНМА	PD	
BOMA	ВО	
DREDF	CU	
HLAA	CU	
HUD	R	
IAAPA	ВО	
ICC	R	
ISA	PD	
LPA	CU	
MCDPS	R	
NAD	CU	
NAHB	во	
NCSBCS	R	
NEII	PD	
NEMA	PD	
NFPA	R	
NMGCD	CU	
NMHC	ВО	
PMI	PD	
PVA	CU	
SEGD	Р	
SMA	PD	
UCPA	CU	
USA	CU	
USDA	R	
WID	CU	
Todd Andersen	Р	
George		
McAllister	Р	
Shahriar Amiri	Р	
Jake Pauls	Р	
Ed Roether	Р	
John Salmen	Р	
Ken	_	
Schoonover	Р	07
Totals		37

## **Summary Minutes**

## July 28 & 29, 2008 Meeting

## I. Opening Business

- A. **Call to order.** Ken Schoonover, Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. on August 19, 2009.
- B. **Explanation and use of phone system:** Since this was the first committee wide use of the conference call system, detail of how to use the system and how voting would occur were presented.
- C. **Introductions:** Self-introductions were made by those present. 37 of 46 organizational and individual members were in attendance at the opening of the meeting. A quorum was established. 10 guests were in attendance on the call.
- D. **Approval and Revisions of Minutes from January 2009 Meeting:** The committee voted to modify and approve the minutes as follows:
  - The minutes should be modified to delete "NFPA" from the list of "members not represented" since Allan Fraser had been in attendance and was listed as such.
  - The spelling of Andre Juillet's last name should be corrected under the list of guests.

### II. Public Comments on Fourth Draft

- A. The committee discussed and took action on the four public comments received on the Fourth Public Comments Draft. The committee did not approve any of the items.
- B. It was announced that the committee actions on the public comments will be balloted and that after that a separate ballot regarding the release of the standard (approval of the document as a whole) would be done.

### III. Committee Procedures

A. The chairman and secretariat requested that volunteers notify the secretariat if they were interested in serving on a task group to review the approved committee procedures and also to serve on a group looking to

review the door hardware force requirements along with Michael Tierney from BHMA.

### IV. New Business

- A. The chairman asked if any new proposals were being offered by the committee. None were raised or developed.
- B. Larry Fleming, the representative from USDA announced that he would be retiring on September 3, 2009 and that USDA would be replacing him on the committee. The committee thanked Larry for his service and participation on the committee.

### V. Administrative

- A. Discussion was held regarding the work of the editorial task group. Was announced that the task group would submit a legislative draft to the committee for their review of all proposed editorial revisions. The committee was notified they would have the opportunity to review and question any editorial items they may disagree with.
- B. Ed Wirtschoreck explained that once the balloting from the committee actions taken at this meeting were completed ICC would submit the proposed standard to ANSI and that the editorial work could occur after that. Due to submittal date the standard will most likely be called the 2009 edition.
- C. Several committee members commented about how the teleconference worked and what they liked or disliked. The captioning was viewed as being helpful. Several committee member indicated that it would have been nice to be able to see how the members voted since only the chairman and secretary could see the voting results.

The meeting was adjourned on Wednesday, August 19, 2009. The secretary did not record the time of adjournment.