January 5, 2015

To: A117.1 Committee

From: Ken Schoonover, Chair

Re: Annual review of Subcommittees and Task Groups

The Committee rules and procedures require an annual review of each subgroup of the A117.1 Committee. This report provides my report and recommendations for new committee members.

1. Membership Committee

The Membership Committee has been meeting every 6 months immediately prior to our full committee meetings. They provide recommendations on applications for new memberships. They provide reviews of the participation of existing members and recommendation of actions, if necessary, when inadequate participation has occurred.

Members:

Kevin Brinkman, Chair Allan B. Fraser M. Bradley Gaskins ** Robert Dale Lynch William Marletta

**Bradley Gaskins is newly appointed.

2. Wheeled Mobility Task Group

The Wheeled Mobility Task Group was established in 2012 to consider the information found in Final Report – Anthropometry of Wheeled Mobility Project and to make recommendations for changes to the Standard. The task group did submit a number of change proposals which have continued forward in this cycle of development of the next edition of the standard. The task group is not currently active. The task group should remain in place to continue to consider additional related topics not addressed in the first set of proposed changed.

The following member list reflects the original appointments. If this committee starts to consider new issues I will consider changing the membership.

Members:

Dave Collins, Co-chair Gina Hillberry, Co-chair Todd Andersen Brian Black Karen Braitmayer Kevin Brinkman Scott Crossfield Marilyn Golden Mark Lichter Dominic Marinelli Tricia Mason Marsha Mazz Ron Nickson Steve Orlowski Kim Paarlberg Shoshana Shamberg Edward Steinfeld Peter Stratton Len Swatkowski

3. Harmonization Task Group

The Harmonization Task Group was established in 2012 to compare technical changes to the ADA 2010 with the A117.1 Standard. The task group submitted a series of changes which the full Committee has acted upon. The committee is not currently active, but should remain in place until we finish this update cycle.

The following member list reflects the original appointments. If this committee starts to consider new issues I will consider changing the membership.

Members:

Ed Roether, Chair Kim Paarlberg, Vice Chair Shahriar Amiri Brian Black M. Bradley Gaskins Robert Dale Lynch Dominic Marinelli Tricia Mason Marsha Mazz John Paul Scott Larry Schnieder Len Swatkowski Mike Tierney

4. Editorial Task Group

The Editorial Task Group was established in July of 2013. They have conducted a preliminary review of revisions to the standard. Chairman Fraser will launch the task group on a second review following actions on the comments on the Second Public Review Draft. The Scope, Objectives and Tasks of the committee are as follows:

Scope and Objectives: Evaluate editorial matters affecting the development of the standard. Make recommendations to the Committee for editorial revisions to the Standard.

Tasks:

- 1. Review public proposals, committee proposals, ballot comments and public comments that are referred to the Task Group. Make recommendations for disposition of the proposals and comments.
- 2. Where multiple, approved proposals affect the same text, the Secretary will merge the proposals. The Task Group will review the Secretary's merged text for consistency with the intent of the proposals and make recommendations to the Committee on the merged text.

- 3. The Secretary edits the draft standard to implement editorial policy. The Task Group will review Secretary's edits and make recommendations to the Committee on the edits.
- 4. Review and make recommendations on other editorial matters that may arise during the current development cycle.
- 5. Review Figures for consistency with related text and make recommendations to edit figures for consistency.

Members:

Allan Fraser, Chair Gene Boecker Dan Buuck Dave Collins M. Bradley Gaskins Rick Lupton Marsha Mazz Kim Paarlberg John Salmen

5. Scoping Task Group

The Scoping Task Group was approved at the January 2014 meeting, and confirmed by subsequent ballot. The Task Group developed a set of recommendations which were presented at the July 2014 meeting. Included in the recommendations was that the A117.1 standard be revised in the next cycle to address scoping. The complete form and nature of such is to be developed. I would like the Scoping Task Group to continue to work to flesh out their recommendations.

Scope and Objectives: Evaluate whether and/or to what extent scoping should be included to the standard. Make recommendations to the Committee for revising the scope of the standard accordingly.

Tasks: Considerations include, but are not limited to, the following:

- 1. Scoping for new construction.
- 2. Scoping for existing buildings, which can include some or all of:
 - a. Changes of occupancy.
 - b. Alterations.

c. Retrospective application of accessibility, such as the DOJ barrier removal concept.

3. If recommending yes to any scoping, consider the following:

a. Evaluate options for the format in which scoping can be incorporated and recommend a format (i.e. separate chapter, separate document, dispersed within current text, etc.)b. Evaluate whether any changes to the committee make-up or structure are needed to maintain the standard.

- 4. If recommending no to scoping, consider the following:
 a. Provide recommendations on how scoping would or could be included in the standard, consistent with #3 above, if scoping were to be included.
 b. Make recommendations on whether and/or to what extent the Committee should provide guidance to model code organizations and other scoping entities on the development of scoping provisions.
- 5. Review current provisions in the standard that are, or appear to be, scoping and make recommendations on the disposition of those provisions.

6. Document in writing the pros and cons of each major issue and recommendation considered by the Task Group (i.e. anticipate the broad discussion by the full Committee and provide a summary of all sides of your deliberations).

Members:

Gina Hilberry – Chair** Doug Anderson Dan Bartz Brian Black Gene Boecker Dave Collins Rick Lupton Dominic Marinelli Tricia Mason *** Marsha Mazz John Salmen

Gina is new appointed as Chair, she has been serving on the task group *Tricia Mason is newly appointed to the task group.