ICC News Release
For Immediate Release: September 13, 2022
Contact: Donna Campbell | (734) 660-6518
dcampbell@iccsafe.org | www.iccsafe.org
International Code Council Honors Building Safety Professionals with 2022 Awards
These distinguished individuals and organizations are being recognized for their exemplary work and service to their communities, the building safety industry, and the Code Council

Louisville, K.Y. – During its 2022 Annual Conference in Louisville, Kentucky, the International Code Council recognized individuals and organizations within the building safety industry who continuously go above and beyond for their communities and the association.

The following accolades were given:

The Bobby J. Fowler Award honors the legacy of the organization’s first chairman of the Board of Directors. The award is presented to a leader who demonstrates compassion, professionalism, and integrity in their duties. Mike Pfeiffer, Senior Vice President of Technical Services at the Code Council, was presented with this year’s Fowler Award.

The Chapter of the Year Award is awarded to the chapter that best promotes the goals and mission of the Code Council. This year’s winner is the Ohio Building Officials Association.

The Chapter Merit Award is dedicated to chapters exhibiting the Code Council’s goals and objectives. This year's award went to the Sacramento Valley Association of Building Officials.

The Community Service Award is given to those with outstanding service and promotes the public health, safety, and welfare of their local community. This year’s recipient is the Code Compliance Services Department, City of Arlington, Texas. 

The Educator of the Year Award acknowledges excellence in promoting professional development and is given in memory of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator, and past presiding officer, who was known for his calm and inspiring leadership qualities. Alan Ellis, Director of the EduCode Conference and Expo, was named the 2022 Educator of the Year.

The Excellence in Public Safety Award recognizes a member who has shown exceptional integrity, professionalism, and dedication to public service. This year’s winner is Amrinder Singh, Building Code Enforcement Manager in Norristown, PA.

The Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award is given to an individual who has helped promote the code enforcement profession and carries out the Code Council’s mission. Presented in honor of the founders of the three model code organizations, this year’s winner of the Code Official of the Year is Sam Palmer, P.E., CBO/CFM.

The Global Award acknowledges distinguished service to the Code Council’s global mission and vision. The 2022 recipient is His Excellency Dr. Saad Alkasabi, Governor of the Saudi Standards, Metrology, and Quality Organization.

The Innovation in Code Administration Award recognizes fire and building departments for new and innovative approaches to delivering code administration services as part of their overall approach to community risk reduction. Chief Building Official for the City of Pleasant Hill, CA, Geoff Simmons, CBO, was presented with this year’s award.

The Meritorious Service Award is granted to an individual who has given time and talent in furthering the development of the Code Council’s codes and standards. The 2022 Meritorious Service Award was presented to David Byl, Senior Plans Examiner from Lenexa, Kansas.

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award recognizes contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy embracing the Code Council’s goal of advancing sustainability and energy efficiency. The winner of the 2022 Leadership in Sustainability award is Kimberly Cheslak, Director of Codes with the New Buildings Institute.

The PMG Leadership Award is given to an individual or organization for exceptional service to the plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas, and swimming pool/spa (PMG) industry. This year’s recipient is Dr. Esber Andiroglu, Doctor of Philosophy and Associate Professor of Practice at the University of Miami.

The Raising the Profile Award recognizes acts or contributions that raise public awareness of accomplishments by code personnel that improve public safety in the built environment. Larry Nichols, Director of the Community Development Department and Building Official for Las Cruces, New Mexico was presented with this year’s award.

The Robert W. Gain Fire Prevention Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and longstanding dedication to the support of fire codes and fire prevention. Kara Gercynski, Division Chief of Fire Prevention and Administration with the Elizabeth Fire Rescue is the 2022 recipient.

The Trailblazer Award recognizes an outstanding mentor in the building safety industry who guides and inspires others in their code-related careers. This year’s award is presented to Kelly Janis, Plans Examiner for Weber County, Utah.

“The Code Council would like to thank all of our members and organizations for their countless hours of work and dedication to making our association better and our communities safer, more resilient, and sustainable,” said Dominic Sims, CEO, International Code Council. “Congratulations to all of our 2022 award winners for their fantastic achievements and well-deserved recognition.”


About the International Code Council
The International Code Council is the leading global source of model codes and standards and building safety solutions. Code Council codes, standards and solutions are used to ensure safe, affordable, and sustainable communities and buildings worldwide.