blankblankICC on YouTube blankTweet This blankSend to Linkedin blankSend to Facebook blankblank blankICC Codes & Standards Discussion Forum

ICC News Release

For Immediate Release
September 18, 2014
Contact: Steve Daggers
1-888-ICC-SAFE (1-888-422-7233),

Outstanding Industry Professionals to be Honored for Contributions to Resilient Communities and Safety in the Built Environment at ICC Annual Conference

The International Code Council will honor industry professionals for contributions to safety in the built environment during its 2014 Annual Conference Sept. 28-30, in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.:

  • Wally Bailey, Director of Development Services for Fort Smith, Ark., will be presented with the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award.
  • Brian Bishop, Construction and Design Engineer for the State Fire Marshal Division of the Iowa Department of Public Safety, will receive the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award.
  • Kelly Nicolello, Alaska State Fire Marshal, will be honored with the ICC Fire Service Award.
  • Carvin DiGiovanni, Senior Director of Technical and Standards at the Association of Pool and Spa Professionals, will be presented with the ICC Affiliate Award.
  • The Mississippi Development Authority Energy and Natural Resources Division; the city of Astoria, Oregon; and Shaunna Mozingo will be presented with Standard Bearers Awards.

Bailey will be presented with the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award, which honors the memory of the first chairman of the Code Council Board of Directors and a visionary for the consolidation of the model code industry. The award is given to an individual whose contributions to the building safety and fire prevention industry advance the Council’s goals in achieving a safer and more sustainable built environment. Particular emphasis is placed on the recipient’s focus beyond local or regional concerns to issues and activities that span the globe.

Bishop will receive the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award, which is presented to an individual whose contributions to the code enforcement profession are meritorious. The individual must demonstrate professional abilities and be recognized as an example for all members of the code enforcement profession. The award is a tribute to the founders of the three legacy model code organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement and Phil Roberts.

Nicolello will accept the ICC Fire Service Award, which is bestowed to an individual for service, professional abilities and leadership that are exemplary in the development of the International Fire Code and one who has served as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals. The award honors Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code.

DiGiovanni will receive the ICC Affiliate Award, which is presented in honor of John Fies, Wilbur H. Lind and Alton Riddick, who demonstrated unselfish service to the Code Council’s legacy model code organizations. Recipients demonstrate integrity, professionalism and dedication through service to the building safety profession and personal standards representing the spirit of public service to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety.

For the first time, ICC and the Institute for Market Transformation will present the Standard Bearers Awards for Excellence in Energy Code Compliance. The awards celebrate state and local jurisdictions and individuals who are dedicated to raising compliance with energy codes, and have worked to achieve energy reduction in buildings in a cost-effective manner.

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.