Certification and Testing

Certification and Testing

Certification and Testing

News and Updates

Retiring Exams:

The following National Certification Exams are retiring effective December 31st, 2016:

  • 01 Legal/Management Module
  • 02 Technology Module
  • DR Disaster Response Inspector
  • FM Certified Fire Marshal

Available Code Years: 

The following is the list of code years available for testing for the next several years:

CBT = Computer-based Testing; P&P = Paper & Pencil-based testing

  • 2017
    • P&P: 2009**, 2012, 2015
    • CBT: 2012, 2015
  • 2018 – January-June
    • P&P: 2009**, 2012, 2015
    • CBT: 2012, 2015
  • 2018 – July-December
    • P&P: 2012, 2015, 2018
    • CBT: 2015, 2018
  • 2019 and until further notice
    • P&P: 2012, 2015, 2018
    • CBT: 2015, 2018

**Note on 2009 I-Code Exams: Not all national certification examinations have a 2009 I-Code-based exam available. Please check the bulletin for specific information.

Click here to visit our archive and view previous updates.


Exam Candidates

Get information on exam registration and administration.


Get information on services for jurisdictions.


Established. Authentic. Innovative. Valuable. Proven…

Those are just a few words that describe the oldest, largest and most prestigious credentialing program for constructions codes and Standards professionals in the United States.

And now YOU can be a part of it!

ICC certification examinations are maintained to the highest standards and include continuous review by committees of experienced professionals. Most building departments, state agencies and third party entities recognize ICC certification as the single most significant codes and standards credentials that building professionals can attain.*

*ICC cannot guarantee that a specific governmental agency will accept or recognize a Code Council certification.

Certification Renewal

Earning your CEUs and renewing your certifications is easier than ever! Login to MyICC to check your status, register for courses and renew your certification. Certifications are valid for 3 years and must be renewed on or before the expiration date.

Beginning in 2016, 50 percent of CEUs used for an ICC certification renewal must be earned from training by ICC or ICC Preferred Providers. This percentage will increase to 50% by July 2016 through a smooth transition. Review the revised Certification renewal schedule and the FAQs about the Certification program changes.

Note: To renew a Nevada Electrician ID card, refer to the bulletin for your jurisdiction.

Now Available - Expanded Opportunity for Certification Reinstatement

Starting in February 2016, individuals with certifications expired more than six (6) years can reinstate their certifications without the need to re-test. Expired certifications initially issued by ICC or the legacy organizations (ICBO, BOCA, SBCCI, CABO) are eligible for reinstatement.

You can complete an application now for certifications issued by ICC or certifications issued by a legacy organization. Questions? We've compiled the most frequently asked questions on the Reinstatement Program FAQs.

Wallet Cards for ICC Certification Holders

Wallet cards are coming to all ICC members and certification holders! Read more about the changes to the wallet cards.