2012/2013 ICC Code Action Committees

The ICC Board approved the creation of three new code action committees (CAC) for the 2012/2013 Code Development Cycle. This brings the total number of CAC’s to four including the existing Fire CAC. Code action committees are code discipline specific committees whose purpose is to identify opportunities to improve and enhance a particular International Code or portion thereof. This is accomplished by the CAC’s submitting proposed code changes, modifications and public comments as well as participating in the Code Development and Final Action Hearings. Click here for Council Policy 31 which regulates the CAC’s and click here for additional information on the CAC’s.

At this time, ICC is receiving applications for members for all four CAC’s. Code action committee members are appointed by the ICC Board of Directors. Click here for an application. The acronym in bold is to be used to identify the CAC you are applying for on the application.

BCACBuilding Code Action Committee (All chapters of the of the IBC and Chapters 1 – 10 of the IRC)
FCACFire Code Action Committee (IFC)
PMGCACIPC, IMC, IFGC and Chapters 12 – 33 of the IRC
SEHPCACSustainability, Energy & High Performance Building Code Action Committee (IECC, IGCC and Chapter 11 of the IRC)

All 4 CAC’s will be appointed this year. However, in support of the Group A (IBC, IFGC, IMC and IPC) code change deadline of January 3, 2012, only the BCAC and PMGCAC will hold in-person meetings in 2011. Two – three meetings are anticipated. The CAC’s also will conduct business via conference calls. ICC Governmental Member Representatives are authorized to travel at ICC’s expense when participating at CAC meetings. All others are responsible for funding their participation on this committee.

Term: Appointment – December 31, 2013

Staff: Mike Pfeiffer; 1-888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233), ext. 4338

Application deadline: March 7, 2011  (Call Expired)