The Fire Service Membership Council is a forum for concerns and issues that are of particular interest to the fire service, to assist ICC in increasing participation of such individuals in the ICC Code development process, and to advise ICC on programs and policies, legislative matters, code adoption issues and such other matters as the Council deems appropriate.

As a policy advisory group, the Fire Service Membership Council has supported important pieces of proposed federal legislation:

• Kerry Rose Fire Sprinkler Notification Act
• Campus Fire Safety Education Act of 2017
• Fire Sprinkler Incentive Act
• Nicholas and Zachary Burt Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act.

The Council works to build relationships with other ICC Councils, especially the Building Official Membership Council with which it shares liaisons and has twice yearly joint dinners to have face-to-face opportunities to understand each other’s’ issues.

Membership Requirements
Membership in the Council is open to any individual who wishes to affiliate with the Fire Service Membership Council and is a member of the International Code Council (ICC), an ICC Governmental Member Voting Representative, or employed by a jurisdiction or corporate member of ICC or a member in good standing of a closely aligned organization as approved by the ICC Board of Directors.

The Governing Committee may make recommendations to the ICC Board of Directors to include additional organizations as closely aligned with ICC.


Next Fire Service Membership Council Meeting

The next meeting of the Fire Service Membership Council -- the fire service's policy advisory group to the ICC -- is scheduled for Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 1:30 p.m. EST by Webex. Follow this link to join the Webex meeting. All FSMC Members and other interested parties are invited to participate.

If you would like to be added to the agenda or mailing list for all meetings and FSMC information, please contact Karl Fippinger at

For past meeting minutes, scroll to the bottom of this page and select "View Committee Documents." Thank you for your interest.

Congressional Fire Services Institute Joint National Advisory Committee Resolutions Approved

The International Code Council joined the National Fire Protection Association and the International Association of Fire Chiefs to address the issue of preventing wildfires by sponsoring a joint resolution on wildland fires through the Congressional Fire Services Institute National Advisory Committee. The Code Council also introduced a separate resolution expressing support for using the latest codes and standards in the design and construction of federally supported infrastructure investments. The Code Council was joined by the International Association of Fire Chiefs, National Association of State Fire Marshals and the National Volunteer Fire Council in sponsoring the resolution. Both resolutions were approved on April 26, 2019, at the CFSI National Advisory Committee meeting and were subsequently approved by the CFSI Board of Directors. More details here: Congressional Fire Services Institute Joint NAC Resolutions Approved

Three-Year Code Adoption Cycle

Some organizations have been pushing state legislatures to lengthen the code adoption cycle from three to six or even nine years. The Coalition for Current Safety Codes (founded by ICC, the National Fire Protection Association and National Electrical Equipment Manufacturers Association) mobilizes about 250 other organizations to support the three-year code cycle. Any person or organization is welcome to be a member.

ICC has model resolutions supporting the three-year cycle. Contact to obtain one for  your organization.

FSMC News Archive »

The Innovation in Code Administration Award

The International Code Council Government Relations Innovation in Code Administration Awards Program recognizes fire and building organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services in their communities.

ICC Code Chat Forums

Want to comment on the latest Fire Service Membership Council news and discuss related fire service activities?  Visit ICC's discussion forums today!

New ICC Board decision: Voter validation extended from one to three years for GMVRs

The validation cycle for Governmental Member Voting Representatives (GMVR) has been extended from one to three years. This means that all currently validated GMVRs now remain active for the course of this three-year code development cycle.

  • Any credentials validated and approved since January 1, 2018, are active through December 31, 2020, as long as the Governmental Member account is kept fully paid and current.
  • The Primary Contact may edit the voting roster during indicated times throughout the cycle. If no changes occur to an approved voter’s status, the credentials do not need to be revalidated until the next code development cycle.
  • New or revised applications for voting representatives must be submitted 30 days prior to a voting event (committee action hearings, public comment hearings, or Annual Business Meeting) in order to be eligible to vote at that event. To participate in the Committee Action Hearings in Albuquerque and the online voting afterward, new or revised applications for GMVRs must be submitted by March 29.

Check your voter status online today. You must be validated to vote on the 2021 Group B proposals during the Committee Action Hearing set for April 28 to May 8 at Albuquerque, N.M., and afterward online using cdpACCESS. Should you have any questions, please contact Member Services at or phone 888-422-7233 x33804.

Governing Committee of the ICC Fire Service Membership Council

Gary WestChair, National Association of State Fire Marshals, TN
Randy Metz, Vice-Chair, International Association of Fire Chiefs (Western Division), CA

Rick Boisvert, International Association of Fire Chiefs (Great Lakes Division), MI
Robert Buxton, International Association of Fire Chiefs (New England Division), NH
Fulton Cochran
, Clark County Building and Fire Prevention Department, NV
Michael Desrochers, National Association of State Fire Marshals, VT
Timothy Diehl, City of Rockville, MD
Joseph Fahd, International Association of Fire Chiefs, (Eastern Division) NY
Kara Gerczynski, International Association of Fire Chiefs (Missouri Valley Division), CO
Andy King, International Association of Fire Chiefs (Southeastern Division), TN
Joe McElvaney, Phoenix Fire Department, AZ
Kelly Nicolello, National Association of State Fire Marshals, TX
Coy PorterNational Association of State Fire Marshals, UT
Christine Reed, Central County Fire Department, CA
Brian Sloat, International Association of Fire Chiefs (Southwestern Division), AR
Steve Swarthout, Riverside County Fire Department, CA
Adolf Zubia, A to Z Consulting, Las Cruces, NM

Staff Liaison
Karl Fippinger, ICC Vice President of Fire and Disaster Mitigation

Assistant Staff Liaison
Dave Nichols, ICC Senior Regional Manager

Board Liaison
Angie Wiese, ICC Board of Directors

Questions on the Council? Contact Karla Higgs.