



# **International Code Council Education Committee**

June 18<sup>th</sup>, 2015 Conference Call 02:00pm ET/01:00pm CT/12:00pm MT/11:00am PT

EC Chair:

EC Vice-Chair:

Committee Members:

Nancy Springer

Tom Johnson

Jeff Camp

John Delesandro

John Delesandro Dave Horras Sean Reid

PDC Chair: Cindy Davis
ICC Board Liaisons: Cash Olszowy

Gilbert Gonzales

ICC Staff: Liz Chagolla

Mark Johnson Allison Street Casey Thomas Doug Thornburg

### **MINUTES**

Education Committee Chair, Nancy Springer called the meeting to order at 11:02am PST.

#### 1. Roll Call

Ms. Springer asked Executive Assistant, Casey Thomas to call roll. All Education Committee members were present with the exception of ICC Board Vice President, Cash Olszowy. At 11:25 PT PDC Chair, Cindy Davis joined the call. Quorum was established.

# 2. Review and Approve Agenda

Mr. Tom Johnson motioned to approve the Agenda; Mr. Sean Reid seconded. The agenda was approved unanimously.

# 3. Review and Approve Minutes from May 21st Teleconference

Mr. Jeff Camp motioned to approve the Minutes; Mr. T. Johnson seconded. The May 21<sup>st</sup> Teleconference Minutes were approved unanimously.

### 4. Educator of the Year Criteria

The draft criteria and scoresheet were discussed. The description should be added to the top of the scoresheet, which includes Brent Snyder's name; Ms. Thomas to make that change. The procedure for scoring was reviewed by Ms. Springer. 1) Review the nomination sheets 2) Look at the criteria on the scoresheet 3) score accordingly on the information received 4) Submit to Ms. Thomas for compilation. 5) There will be another conference call to come to the conclusion. It was determined that if an EC member is associated with or has a personal relationship with a nominee, he or she should recuse him or herself from scoring that individual; the scoring calculations will be adjusted accordingly. A box for Miscellaneous to be added to the scoresheet for anything not captured in the criteria. The score sheets to be redistributed after the modifications are made.

# 5. Preferred Provider Program Update

Ms. Liz Chagolla provided the current preferred provider stats. Currently, 251 applications have been received, 197 are active providers. Mr. Thornburg stated the next step is the focus on getting the PPs to renew. One suggestion by the Committee is to put endorsement quotations on the Preferred Provider website.

# 6. Other Business

Mr. T. Johnson asked if there was a budget for a face-to-face meeting at the Annual Business Meeting. Ms. Thomas stated it was a matter of figuring out schedules to see if that is possible since the ABM schedule is shorter. If that doesn't work, there is a possibility of having another face-to-face meeting at a different date.

Mr. Thornburg wanted to address another tweak to the Education Program at the ABM; FEMA wants to do an hour and a half session recommended seismic provisions. It will share the classroom with the hydrogen vehicle class, while the hydrogen vehicle class is off site. This will not take away any training. All members agree with this change.

Ms. Davis wanted to make sure that the Building Membership Council Higher Education Committee Chair reached out to Ms. Springer. Ms. Springer said she would follow up with him as she hasn't heard from him yet. Ms. Davis requested that Mr. Thornburg get in touch with Vaughn Wicker, staff liaison to the Building Membership Council.

# 7. Adjourn Meeting

Mr. T. Johnson made a motion to adjourn. Mr. John Delesandro seconded. Conference was adjourned at 11:45pm PT