

International Code Council IECC Residential Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: November 16, 2021

Committee Chair: JC Hudgison

Committee Vice Chair: Bridget Herring, Robin Yochum

1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order at approx. 1:02pm CT.

2. Meeting Conduct. IECC Secretariat Kris Stenger introduced this item and made attendees aware of ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests and ICC Code of Ethics.

3. Roll Call.

Committee members in attendance: (43 in attendance 5 absent)

Chair JC Hudgison, Vice-Chair Bridget Herring, Vice-Chair Robin Yochum, Charles Allen, Jennifer Amann, Rob Austin, Molly Berg (alt), Amy Boyce, Diana Burk (alt), Patricia Chawla, Clifford Davis, Paul Demers, Stephen Dent, Pamela Fasse, Ian Finlayson, Kevin Gobble, David Goldstein (alt), Emma Gonzalez-Laders, Mark Lyles, Gary Heikkinen, John A. Hensley, John E. Hensley, Shane Hoeper, R L Johnson, Mary Koban, Vladimir Kochkin, Alison Lindburg, Gavin Mabe, Thomas Marston, Amy Martino, Paul Messplay (alt), Jim Meyers, Thomas Paine (alt), Richard Potts, William Pousson Jr., Ben Rabe, Robert Raymer, Mark Rodriguez, Gil Rossmiller, Robert Salcido, Amy Schmidt, Brian Shanks, Michael Stone, Michael Tillou (alt), Richard Truitt, Gayathri Vijayakumar, Helen Walter-Terrinoni (alt), Seth Wiley, Jeremy Williams, Jeremy Wright

Not in attendance: Ann Edminster, Jeff Inks, Ricardo Madrid, Robert Parks, Lauren Urbanek,

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Mike Pfeiffer, Ed Wirtschorek, Ryan Colker, Jerica Stacey, Jason Toves, Shawn Martin

- 4. Approval of the Minutes-motion by Ric Johnson to approve minutes. Second by Bob Raymer. Approved Unanimously
- 5. Administrative issues. Kris Stenger introduced the eballot voting software that will be used. Each member was sent a sample ballot as a test. The subcommittees will be using Microsoft Teams for documents in process. All completed documents will be posted on the committee website.

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

6. IECC Code Proposal Submittal Update-Kris Stenger provided a brief overview on where staff is on processing the roughly 450 code changes. Staff intends to release a monograph of the proposed changes before the Thanksgiving holiday. Upon the release of the monograph there will be a review period before Subcommittees will take action on code change proposals. Distribution of proposed code changes to Subcommittee chairs will be available in Teams as of today such that they may begin formulating agendas.

7. Action Items.

- a. Subcommittee Rosters
 - 1. Discussion of Consensus Committee Members placement on Subcommittees
 - a. Nomination of Ian Finlayson to chair the Economics, Modeling, and Whole Building Metrics Subcommittee. Motion by Vice Chair Bridget Herring. Second by Vice Chair Robin Yochum. Passed Unanimously
 - b. Motion by Mark Rodriguez to move Bob Raymer from the Envelope SC to the Electrical Power, Lighting, Renewable Energy and Storage SC. Second by Amy Schmidt. Approved Unanimously.
 - 2. Discussion of modifications of proposed placement of interest party voting members
 - a. Motion by Mike Stone to move Joe Cain from Existing Buildings SC to Electrical Power SC. Second by Bob Raymer. Passed 31-5 b. Motion by Bob Raymer to move Amanda Hickman from the Existing Buildings SC to the Envelope SC and add Jim Zengel to the Existing Buildings SC. Second by Ric Johnson. Approved unanimously.
 - c. Motion by Bob Raymer to approve all Subcommittee rosters as presented. Second by Mark Rodriguez. Approved unanimously.
- b. Committee Organization Document
 - 1. Picking up tabled Intent statement item from previous meeting. Motion by Seth Wiley to approve as submitted with a second by Amy Schmidt. Amy Martino requested a friendly amendment to modify the language. Approved by Mr. Wiley but second removed by Amy Schmidt. New Second to the previous motion with intent to modify by Vladimir Kochkin. After discussion Goals statement was presented to vote with the following language and passed by a vote of 24-11.

Goals:

Facilitate consensus to achieve lifecycle-cost-effective energy efficiency improvements in the next edition of the IECC-R as compared to the 2021 IECC-R. Concise, analytical arguments shall respect various stakeholder priorities and time commitments. The goals of the consensus are to provide increased efficiency and energy performance in comparison to 2021 IECC to maintain the glidepath to net zero energy buildings by 2030. Additional savings and optional measures will be pursued including non-mandatory appendices incorporating additional energy efficiency and greenhouse gas reduction resources.

- 8. Other Business-Chair requested members of Economics, Modeling, and Whole Building Metrics to listen into the upcoming meeting of the Commercial Construction Cost and Life Cycle Cost Advisory Group. Items under discussion may be of use for the work of the Subcommittee.
- 10. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting with be Thursday, December 16 4at 1pm cst
- 11. Adjourn. at 3:10 pm.

FOR FURTHER IECC Residential INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Residential Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org