

Multi-Hazard Resiliency for Residential Construction Standards

December 7, 2022 - MEETING #4 Minutes

The 4th meeting of the ICC Multi-Hazard Resiliency for Residential Construction Standards Committee (IS-MHRRC) to develop the ICC 605 standard.

Virtual Meeting
December 7, 2022, Scheduled for 11:00 am - 1:00 pm CT

Chair: Medard Kopczynski Vice-chair: Anne Cope

Secretariats: Larry Novak, Keith Enstrom

I. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Call to Order. Medard Kopczynski, Chair called the meeting to order.

ICC Code of Ethics: CP #7 Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests, CP #50 Antitrust Compliance Guidelines (i.e. avoid price, production and marketing strategies discussions)

Roll call of committee members and interested parties. Keith Enstrom, ICC called the roll of committee members and ICC staff in attendance. There was noted to be quorum of committee members in attendance. The attendance roster is included below.

Review and approval of the previous meeting minutes. The previous meeting minutes were approved without correction.

Review and approval of the agenda. The meeting agenda was approved with a change of order for the task group presentation as shown below.

II. TASK GROUPS PRESENTATION AND DISCUSSION

A. Administrative Requirements - Shamim Rashid-Sumar - Chair

B. A. Site and Area Requirements - Anne Cope – Chair reported the following:

The Site and Area Task Group met on November 30th. We discussed several topics related to the scope of the document and the three chapters we are tasked with developing. All agree that it is easier to edit existing text than to start fresh, and we agree that our group has a clear preference for getting a starting point developed that can then be discussed in meetings instead of discussing blank sections, then writing. To that end, Dave Torgerson has graciously agreed to draft an outline for

Chapter 3 that we plan to discuss in our next meeting on the 19th of December. We will also establish a recurring meeting time starting in January, and we continue to work to provide access to the file sharing site for the committee that is being provided by IBHS.

C. B. Building Design Requirements - Chris Brunette - Chair reported the following:

The Building Design Requirements task group met on December 2nd. We made sure everyone had access to both the FTP site and the Google folder that we're working out of. We then reviewed the work that had been completed so far. We chose at our first meeting to begin with the building design requirements in the 2021 IWUIC, which we have started to copy over to our working document. We've also drafted a scope statement for each of our two chapters, which we'll further refine at our next meeting on the 16th. We are utilizing a Gannt chart to track our progress and assign responsibilities, which is also housed in our shared Google folder.

D. C. Administrative Requirements - Shamim Rashid-Sumar - Chair reported the following in advance, which was presented by Keith Enstrom, ICC during the meeting:

The Administrative Task Group met for the first time on Monday November 21st. The members reviewed the scope of the task group and discussed meeting cadence and document management. The task group also discussed its intention to coordinate closely with the other task groups. Task Group meetings will be held approximately every three weeks on Mondays at 1pm Eastern time. The next meeting of the Administrative Task Group is scheduled on Monday December 12 at 1pm Eastern. Committee members and interested parties are welcome to participate.

III. OTHER BUSINESS

- A. **Next meeting –** Keith Enstrom, ICC stated that future full committee meetings would be scheduled monthly on a reoccurring basis. Larry Novak, ICC requested that task groups provide any anticipated tables and figures. Karl Aittaniemi, ICC stated that all standard and definition text is required to use inclusive language.
- B. **Questions** None.
- **IV. ADJOURN** The meeting was called to adjourn early by Medard Kopczynski, Chair at approximately 11:30 AM.

Attendance Roster:

Name	
Committee Members	
Chris Brunette	X
Jon-Paul Cardin	X
Jeremy Cawn	X
Kathy Clay	
Anne Cope	X
Brad Douglas	X
Gary Ehrlich	X
Mark Hope	X
Justice Jones	X X X X X
Medard Kopczynski	X
Nick Lang	
Michael Olen	X
Steve Pollack	
Shamim Rashid-Sumar	
Robert Raymer	
Donald Scott	
David Torgerson	X
Borjen Yeh	X
David Zader	X
ICC Staff	
Larry Novak	X
Keith Enstrom	X
Karl Aittaniemi	
Karl Fippinger	X