

# Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee

## August 5<sup>th</sup> Friday, 2022 at 2 PM to 5 PM CT MEETING #10 Minutes (for committee approval)

This meeting of the ICC Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee (IS-RSARC) was convened on August 5<sup>th</sup>, 2022 to advance the ICC 1300 standard.

Date: August 5<sup>th</sup>, 2022 Venue: Virtual Mtg Online

1. Welcome / Opening Statements: Larry Novak, ICC / Chief Structural Engineer / Codes & Standards Development, called the three (3) hour-long meeting to order at 2:00 PM and welcomed all committee members, ICC staff and interested parties.

#### 2. Identification of Representation / Conflict of Interest:

- a) ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests (attached)
- b) ICC Code of Ethics ICC advocates commitment to a standard of professional behavior that exemplifies the highest ideals and principles of ethical conduct which include integrity, honesty, and fairness. As part of this commitment, it is expected that participants shall act with courtesy, competence, and respect for others.
- 3. Roll Call: See attached attendance sheet. Mr. Novak called roll on the IS-RSARC committee voting members and noted that we had a quorum to conduct business.
- 4. Approve Minutes from previous meeting: Approved
- 5. Discuss status of Document: See #7
- 6. Task Groups Reports (fist name is task group organizer)
  - a) Task Group Administrative (AD) Ch. 1, 2, 3, 8 and Existing App: Kelly Cobeen, Ronald Lynn, Larry Stevig, Roy Harthorn
    - Presented the work of the task group.
  - b) Task Group Crawlspace Dwellings (CD) Ch. 4: Omar Amini, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Thor Matteson, Gary Ehrlich, Janiele Maffei i) Presented the work of the task group.
  - Task Group LOG Dwellings (LD) Ch. 5: Dan Dolan, Omar Amini, Thor Matteson, Kevin McOsker, Mike Cochran, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
    i) Presented the work of the task group.
  - d) Task Group Hillside Dwellings (HD) Ch. 6: Mike Cochran, Dan Dolan, Thor Matteson, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
    - i) Discussed the work of the Task Group.
  - e) Task Group: Chimneys (CH) Ch. 7: Ron Lynn, Kevin McOsker, Roy Harthorn, Kelly Cobeen
    - ii) Presented the work of the task group.

#### 7. New Business:

- a) We agreed that we should put the standard back out to committee written ballot. The new second ballot will include all changes made in response to the first committee ballot.
- the task groups to complete recommended responses, reach out to commenters where possible to verify that responses addressed comments, and prepare a Second Committee Ballot.
- c) This second ballot will retain all strike out and underline used in the first ballot and add new strike out and underline for new revisions.
- d) If possible we request that new revisions be highlighted so that they can be easily identified. We also ask that the task groups provide the spread sheets with resolution of comments.
- e) This will be provided with the ballot as additional information.
- f) We ask that the revised ballot material be provided to Larry and Samhar with a cc to me by Tuesday September 6.

We will try to get it back out to ballot by the following week.

### 8. Meeting adjourned

## FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Lawrence C. Novak, SE, F.SEI, CERT, LEED AP Chief Structural Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL

Direct: 888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233) Ext. 4405

LNovak@iccsafe.org

Samhar Hoz Staff Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL (888) 422-7233, Ext. 4344 shoz@iccsafe.org



## Attendance Roster

Name	Oct. 16, 2020	Dec. 18, 2020	Feb. 25, 2021	May 18, 2021	Aug. 24, 2021	Nov, 02 2021	Dec. 14 2021	Feb 17, 2022	April 13 <sup>th</sup> , 2022	August 5 <sup>th</sup> , 2022
Committee										
Members										
Omar Amini	X	X	X	X	Χ	X	Χ	Χ	Χ	X
Kelly Cobeen	X	X	Χ	X	Χ	X	Χ	X	Χ	Χ
Michael Cochran	Х	X	X	X	Χ	X		X	Х	Χ
Howard Cook	Х	X	X	Х	X	X	Χ	X	X	Х
J. Daniel Dolan	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	
Gary Ehrlich	Sent regrets	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х
Oscar Iniguez	X			Withd	rawn from	membership	)			
Philip Line	Х	Х	Χ	X	Х	X		Х	Х	Х
Ronald Lynn	X	X	X	X	X		Х	X	X	
Thor Matteson	X	X	X	X	X	Х	,,	X		Х
Kevin McOsker	X	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X	Х	X
Alternates										
Alternates										
Interested Parties										
Colin Blaney			Х							
David Collins		Х								
Roy Harthorn	Х									
Dean Greenleaf			Χ	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	
Ayse Hortacsu	Х			X		X				
Janiele Maffei	X	Х		X	Х		Х	Х	Х	
Brian Olsen										
Randy Shackelford				Х	Х		Х		Х	Х
	Х			X	X	X	X		X	X
Larry Stevig	^	X		^	^	^	X		^	^
Bob Torbin						1	λ		V	
Kaveh Aminian					X	1			Х	
Jimmy Fiches					X					
Kim Tietz					Х					
Ray Allshouse						X	X	Х		
Eulher Sergi							Х			
Carl Merey							Х			
Diego Tardelli							Χ			
Alfredo Jacone							Χ			
Amanda Southy							Х			
ICC Staff										
Lawrence Novak	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Karl Aittaniemi	1	X		- `	X	1		<u> </u>	<u> </u>	<u> </u>
Samhar Hoz	Х	X	Χ	Х	X	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Susan Dowty	<u> </u>	1		- 1		1	- `			
Mike Pfeiffer										
Ed Wirtschoreck		<del> </del>				+		Х	-	
LU WIIIOUIUIEUN		+				+				+
		<del>                                     </del>				+			1	
		<del>                                     </del>				<del>                                     </del>		1	1	
	<u> </u>	L				<u> </u>		L		]