

Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee

April 18th, 2023 at 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM CT MEETING #11 Minutes (for committee approval)

This meeting of the ICC Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee (IS-RSARC) was convened on April 18th, 2023 to advance the ICC 1300 standard.

Date: April 18th, 2023 Venue: Virtual Mtg Online

1. Welcome / Opening Statements: Larry Novak, ICC / Chief Structural Engineer / Codes & Standards Development, called the three (3) hour-long meeting to order at 2:00 PM and welcomed all committee members, ICC staff and interested parties.

2. Identification of Representation / Conflict of Interest:

- a) ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests (attached)
- b) ICC Code of Ethics ICC advocates commitment to a standard of professional behavior that exemplifies the highest ideals and principles of ethical conduct which include integrity, honesty, and fairness. As part of this commitment, it is expected that participants shall act with courtesy, competence, and respect for others.
- 3. Roll Call: See attached attendance sheet. Mr. Novak called roll on the IS-RSARC committee voting members and noted that we had a quorum to conduct business.

4. Approve Minutes from previous meeting

5. Discuss status of Document and ballot results

6. Task Groups Reports (fist name is task group organizer)

- a) Task Group Administrative (AD) Ch. 1, 2, 3, 8 and Existing App: Kelly Cobeen, Ronald Lynn, Larry Stevig, Roy Harthorn
 - i) Presented the work of the ballot results.
 - Appendixes are not mandatory but will be included in the public comment. Pursuant to 'non mandatory appendices', ICC typically adds the following 'user note' after the title of the appendix: [The information contained in this appendix is not part of this American National Standard (ANS) and has not been processed in accordance with ANSI's requirements for an ANS. As such, this appendix may contain material that has not been subjected to public review or a consensus process. In addition, it does not contain requirements necessary for conformance to this standard.]
 - iii) ASCE 7 reference vs the adopted code mentioned in the document.
 - iv) Discussed changes to the alternative lateral force-resisting system.
 - v) Resolve the alternative lateral force-resisting system negative (Vote: 9-0)
- b) Task Group Crawlspace Dwellings (CD) Ch. 4: Omar Amini, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Thor Matteson, Gary Ehrlich, Janiele Maffei
 i) Presented the work of the ballot results.
 - ii) 3 main comments. The rest are editorial.
 - iii) Use "self-adhered flashing"
 - iv) Approving the technical changes and editorial changes (Vote: 9-0)
- c) Task Group LOG Dwellings (LD) Ch. 5: Dan Dolan, Omar Amini, Thor Matteson, Kevin McOsker, Mike Cochran, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
 i) Presented the work of the ballot results.
- d) Task Group Hillside Dwellings (HD) Ch. 6: Mike Cochran, Dan Dolan, Thor Matteson, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
 i) Presented the work of the ballot results
- e) Task Group: Chimneys (CH) Ch. 7: Ron Lynn, Kevin McOsker, Roy Harthorn, Kelly Cobeen
 i) Presented the work of the ballot results.

7. New Business:

- a) Monday, May 8th deadline to send the comments
- b) Next meeting May 24th at 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM CT

8. Meeting adjourned

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Lawrence C. Novak, SE, F.SEI, CERT, LEED AP Chief Structural Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL Direct: 888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233) Ext. 4405 LNovak@iccsafe.org Samhar Hoz Staff Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL (888) 422-7233, Ext. 4344 shoz@iccsafe.org



Attendance Roster

Name	Oct. 16, 2020	Dec. 18, 2020	Feb. 25, 2021	May 18, 2021	Aug. 24, 2021	Nov, 02 2021	Dec. 14 2021	Feb 17, 2022	April 13 th , 2022	April 18 th , 2023
Committee Members										
Omar Amini	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Kelly Cobeen	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X
Michael Cochran	X	X	X	X	X	X	~	X	X	X
Howard Cook	X	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X	X	X
J. Daniel Dolan	X	X	X	X	X	X	~	X	X	X
Gary Ehrlich	Sent	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X		X
Oscar Iniguez	regrets X			Witho	lrawn from n	nembership)			
Philip Line	X	Х	Х	X	X	X		Х	Х	Х
Ronald Lynn	X	X	X	X	X		Х	X	X	X
Thor Matteson	X	X	X	X	X	Х		X		X
Kevin McOsker	X	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X	х	-
								Λ		
Alternates										
Interested Parties										
Colin Blaney			Х							
David Collins		Х								
Roy Harthorn	Х									
Dean Greenleaf			Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	
Ayse Hortacsu	Х			Х		Х				
Janiele Maffei	Х	Х		Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	
Brian Olsen										
Randy Shackelford				Х	Х		Х		Х	Х
Larry Stevig	Х	Х		X	X	Х	X		X	X
Bob Torbin	~~~~	X		~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~	Λ	X	X		~	
Kaveh Aminian		~			Х		~		Х	
Jimmy Fiches					X				^	
Kim Tietz	<u> </u>	+			X					
					^	Х	v	Х		Х
Ray Allshouse						^	X X	^		^
Eulher Sergi										
Carl Merey							X			
Diego Tardelli							X			<u> </u>
Alfredo Jacone							Х			
Amanda Southy							Х			
Kamalpreet Kalsi										Х
ICC Staff										
Lawrence Novak	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Karl Aittaniemi		Х			Х					
Samhar Hoz	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Susan Dowty		T								
Mike Pfeiffer	1	1								
Ed Wirtschoreck						-		Х		1
	1									
	1	1			1					<u> </u>