

Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee

May 24th, Wed 2023 at 2 PM to 5 PM CT MEETING #12 Minutes (for committee approval)

This meeting of the ICC Residential Seismic Assessment and Retrofit Standard Consensus Committee (IS-RSARC) was convened on May 24th, 2023 to advance the ICC 1300 standard.

Date: May 24th, 2023 Venue: Virtual Mtg Online

- 1. Welcome / Opening Statements: Larry Novak, ICC / Chief Structural Engineer / Codes & Standards Development, called the three (3) hour-long meeting to order at 2:00 PM and welcomed all committee members, ICC staff and interested parties.
- 2. Identification of Representation / Conflict of Interest:
 - a) ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests (attached)
 - b) ICC Code of Ethics ICC advocates commitment to a standard of professional behavior that exemplifies the highest ideals and principles of ethical conduct which include integrity, honesty, and fairness. As part of this commitment, it is expected that participants shall act with courtesy, competence, and respect for others.
- 3. Roll Call: See attached attendance sheet. Mr. Novak called roll on the IS-RSARC committee voting members and noted that we had a quorum to conduct business.
- 4. Approve Minutes from previous meeting.
- 5. Discuss status of Document and ballot results
- 6. Task Groups Reports (fist name is task group organizer)
 - a) Task Group Administrative (AD) Ch. 1, 2, 3, 8 and Existing App: Kelly Cobeen, Ronald Lynn, Larry Stevig, Roy Harthorn
 - i) Presented the work of addressing the ballot results.
 - ii) Addressing Chapter 2, section 2.1 for alternative lateral force resisting system.
 - iii) Discussed changes to the alternative lateral force-resisting system.
 - iv) Discussed changes to the reference chapter.
 - v) Motion to approve all changes. All the changes have been approved (Vote 9-0).
 - b) Task Group Crawlspace Dwellings (CD) Ch. 4: Omar Amini, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Thor Matteson, Gary Ehrlich, Janiele Maffei
 -) Presented the work of addressing the ballot results.
 - ii) Drawings changes are added in green highlight.
 - iii) Discussed changes in anchors and the plan set.
 - iv) Motion to approve all changes. All the changes have been approved (Vote 9-0).
 - c) Task Group LOG Dwellings (LD) Ch. 5: Dan Dolan, Omar Amini, Thor Matteson, Kevin McOsker, Mike Cochran, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
 - i) Presented the work of addressing the ballot results.
 - ii) Only received two comments.
 - iii) Motion to approve all changes. All the changes have been approved (Vote 9-0).
 - d) Task Group Hillside Dwellings (HD) Ch. 6: Mike Cochran, Dan Dolan, Thor Matteson, Howard Cook, Phil Line, Gary Ehrlich
 - i) Presented the work of addressing the ballot results.
 - ii) Grammar changes only.
 - iii) Motion to approve all changes. All the changes have been approved (Vote 9-0).
- e) Task Group: Chimneys (CH) Ch. 7: Ron Lynn, Kevin McOsker, Roy Harthorn, Kelly Cobeen
 - Presented the work of addressing the ballot results.
 - ii) Discussed changes for the braced connection.
 - iii) Historic structures paragraph will remain the same.
 - iv) Discussed the fire protection requirements.
 - v) Motion to approve all changes. All the changes have been approved (Vote 9-0).

7. New Business:

- a) Next Friday's deadline to get all the final documents 06/022023
- b) Motion to move the draft to the public comment. Full committee approval (Vote 9-0).
- c) August/September for a Next meeting.

8. Meeting adjourned

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Lawrence C. Novak, SE, F.SEI, CERT, LEED AP Chief Structural Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL Direct: 888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233) Ext. 4405

LNovak@iccsafe.org

Samhar Hoz Staff Engineer Codes and Standards Development International Code Council Country Club Hills, IL (888) 422-7233, Ext. 4344 shoz@iccsafe.org



Attendance Roster

Name	Oct. 16, 2020	Dec. 18, 2020	Feb. 25, 2021	May 18, 2021	Aug. 24, 2021	Nov, 02 2021	Dec. 14 2021	Feb 17, 2022	April 13 th , 2022	April 18 th , 2023	May 24 th , 2023
Committee											
Members											
Omar Amini	X	Х	Х	Х	Χ	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Kelly Cobeen	Х	Χ	Х	Х	Χ	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Michael Cochran	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	Х
Howard Cook	X	X	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
J. Daniel Dolan	Х	Χ	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	Х
Gary Ehrlich	Sent regrets	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х
Oscar Iniguez	X	Withdrawn from membership									
Philip Line	Х	Χ	Х	X	Χ	X	<u> </u>	Х	Х	Х	Х
Ronald Lynn	X	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Thor Matteson	X	X	X	X	X	Х		X		Х	X
Kevin McOsker	X	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X	Х	-	
Alternates											
Interested Parties											
Colin Blaney			Х								
David Collins		Х									
Roy Harthorn	Х										
Dean Greenleaf			Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х		Х
Ayse Hortacsu	Х			Х		Х					
Janiele Maffei	Х	Х		Х	Х		Х	Х	Х		
Brian Olsen											
Randy Shackelford				Х	Х		Х		Х	Х	
Larry Stevig	Х	Х		X	X	Х	X		X	X	
Bob Torbin	Λ	X		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,			X				
Kaveh Aminian					Х				Х		+
Jimmy Fiches					X						+
Kim Tietz					X						+
Ray Allshouse						Х	Х	Х		Х	Х
Eulher Sergi							X				
Carl Merey							X				-
	-									 	
Diego Tardelli							X		-		
Alfredo Jacone				+			X		1		-
Amanda Southy							X		-	V	1
Kamalpreet Kalsi										X	1
ICC Staff							.,				
Lawrence Novak	Х	X	Х	Х	X	Х	Х	Х	X	X	X
Karl Aittaniemi		X	.,		X	,,	.,	.,	.,	.,	
Samhar Hoz	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	X	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Susan Dowty											
Mike Pfeiffer										ļ	<u> </u>
Ed Wirtschoreck								X			