



People Helping People Build a Safer World®

# 2020 Appeal Hearing Agenda

This hearing will cover the following appeals basis: Impact of Online Voting (CP 28), Cost Impact, Voting Guides, Voter Eligibility, and the Validation Process.

September 14, 2020



#### **ICC 2020 APPEAL HEARING**

This hearing will cover the following appeals basis: Impact of Online Voting (CP 28), Cost Impact, Voting Guides, Voter Eligibility, and the Validation Process.

## APPEALS BY LBA AND NAHB September 14, 2020, via Webex Event at 9:00 a.m. Central

#### **AGENDA**

Visit the appeals <u>webpage</u> on ICCsafe.org for related documentation and information on the 2019 Group B Appeal Hearings.

Virtual meeting note: We will be using Webex Event. Be sure Webex is loaded on your computer. The audio will be limited to the audio on your computer. Call-in via phone is not available. Be sure your computer audio is muted when not speaking. Those who will be testifying utilizing the "?" (Q & A function on Webex Event) (e.g. agenda item 4.2.2) are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the feature prior to the start of the hearing. The chat function will be disabled during the hearing.

For technical issues, please contact Webex Support at 866-229-3239 or email ICC IT support staff at <a href="mailto:EventSupport@iccsafe.org"><u>EventSupport@iccsafe.org</u></a>.

Webex Event will be activated at 8:45 a.m. Central, 15 minutes prior to the start of the hearing.

### 1. Roll call

**Appellants** 

LBA:

Ken Gear, LBA

Amanda Hickman, Rep: LBA

Clayton Traylor, LBA

#### NAHB:

Craig Drumheller, NAHB Megan Berge, Legal Counsel Joshua Lee, Legal Counsel Jared Wigginton, Legal Counsel

Participants
See Appendix A

ICC Staff
Mike Pfeiffer, SVP of Technical Services
Mel Oncu, General Counsel

## **Appeals Board**

Cindy Davis, CBO, Appeals Board Chair, ICC Board Vice President

Anne Anderson, P.E., S.E. Green Mountain Structural Engineering

Henry Green, Hon. AIA, Retired, Past President of ICC; Former President & CEO of National Institute of Building Sciences

John Terry, CBO, Retired, Former Assistant Director of Division of Codes and Standards, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs; Past Chair of ICC Codes and Standards Council

- 2.Call to order Chair Davis
  - 2.1 Opening remarks
- 3. Appeal procedure (CP 1)
  - 3.1 Right to appeal (2.0)
  - 3.2 Appeal filing (3.0)
  - 3.3 Notice of appeal (6.1)
  - 3.4 Notice of hearing (6.2)
  - 3.5 Written views received (6.1.3)
    - 3.5.1 See Appendix B
  - 3.6 Hearing participants (6.1.3 & 6.3.12)
  - 3.7 Hearing procedure (6.3)
- 4. Presentation Support appeal
  - 4.1 Appellants (30 minutes each)
    - 4.1.1 PowerPoint presentations
  - 4.2 Others in support (5 minutes)
    - 4.2.1 PowerPoint presentations
    - 4.2.2 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 5. Presentation International Code Council
  - 5.1 PowerPoint presentation (30 minutes)
- 6. Presentation Oppose appeal (5 minutes)
  - 6.1 PowerPoint presentations
  - 6.2 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 7. Rebuttal Verbal rebuttal only
  - 7.1 Support appeal
    - 7.1.1 Appellant (10 minutes)
    - 7.1.2 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function (2 minutes)
  - 7.2 International Code Council (10 minutes)
  - 7.3 Oppose appeal (2 minutes)
    - 7.3.1 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function
- 8. Additional questions from the Appeals Board

- 9. Closing remarks/Identification of next steps
  9.1 Appeals Board Executive Session
  9.2 Notification of Appeals Board Recommendation
  9.3 Code Council Board action
- 10. Public portion adjourned

## APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

## APPENDIX A - PARTICIPANTS

The following participants have registered for this appeal hearing via the Code Council's registration process as of the distribution/posting of this agenda.

First Name	Last Name	Company
David	Beahm	County of Warren, VA
Sharon	Bonesteel	Salt River Project
Amy	Boyce	IMT
Ed	Carley	NASEO
Kim	Cheslak	NRDC
Dave	Collins	AIA
John	Couture	Town of Sutton, MA
Caroline	Davidson-Hood	AHRI
Bill	Fay	Energy Efficient Codes Coalition
Chuck	Foster	EEI
Bryan	Holland	NEMA
Greg	Johnson	Coalition for Fair Energy Codes
Harry	Misuriello	ACEEE
Shaunna	Mozingo	Mozingo Code Group
Jake	Pauls	Jake Pauls Consulting Services
Chris	Perry	ACEEE
Jim	Ranfone	AGA
Nick	Resetar	Roetzel & Andress
Steve	Rosenstock	EEI
Tim	Ryan	IABO
Ben	Silverman	City of Boston
Lauren	Urbanek	NRDC
Jason	Vandever	SPEER
Thom	Zaremba	Roetzel & Andress

#### APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

#### **APPENDIX B - WRITTEN COMMENTS**

The following is a list of individuals/organizations who provided written comments by the deadline of 8/31/2020 in accordance with the Notice of Appeal Hearings. These comments have been distributed to the Appeals Board and Appellant(s) and have been posted on the appeals webpage. Below are the file names of the posted comments:

Anderson FortCollins OGCV Voter Bobzien Nevada OGCV Voter Baldridge Oklahoma OGCV Voter Bobzien Nevada OGCV Voter Bonesteel\_SRP\_OGCV Voter Boyce IMT OGCV Voter Bunch Seattle OGCV Voter Burke Colorado OGCV Voter Burke Colorado OGCV Voter2 Campbell Pennsylvania OGCV Voter1 Campbell Pennsylvania OGCV Voter2 Carley NASEO OGCV Voter Cartney Edwardsville OGCV Voter Castro Orlando OGCV Voter Cheslak NBI OGCV Voter1 Cheslak NBI OGCV Voter2 Cheslak NBI OGCV Voter3 Coffman Maryland OGCV Voter Collins AIA OGCV Voter1 Collins AIA OGCV Voter2 Conway NorthCarolina OGCV Voter Culp BirchPoint OGCV Voter Drumheller NAHB OGCV Voter1 Drumheller NAHB OGCV Voter2 Durkay Colorado OGCV Voter Farrell VAMines OGCV Voter Fay EECC OGCV Voter Goggin Alabama OGCV Voter Hickman LBA OGCV Voter Holland NEMA OGCV Voter1 Holland NEMA OGCV Voter2 Johnson CFEC OGCV Voter Knapp Philadelphia OGCV Voter Koller Shiftzero OGCV Voter Manzik Colorado OGCV Voter Marion Pittsburgh OGCV Voter

McKee\_Lederach\_OGCV\_Voter Miller\_Minneapolis\_OGCV\_Voter Murphy\_SanAntonio\_OGCV\_Voter Murphy\_Vermont\_OGCV\_Voter Obrien Louisiana OGCV Voter

Pauls Consulting OGCV Voter Peterson MAPC OGCV Voter Polis\_Colorado\_OGCV\_Voter Resetar RAlaw OGCV Voter Rogers Milwaukie OGCV Voter1 Rogers Milwaukie OGCV Voter2 Schluter OGCV Voter Scott Mayors Caucus OGCV Voter Sgroi NYSERDA\_OGCV\_Voter Shelide Oregon OGCV Voter Silverman Boston OGCV Voter Smith AnnArbor OGCV Voter Smith\_FortCollins\_OGCV\_Voter Smith FortCollins OGCV Voter2 Smith WestLinn OGCV Voter Stults AnnArbor OGCV Voter Sutter GrandRapids OGCV Voter Tonioli MiamiBeach OGCV Voter Trevino Texas OGCV\_Voter1 Trevino Texas OGCV Voter2 Underwood Delaware OGCV Voter Urbanek NRDC OGCV Voter Volpone Lincoln OGCV Voter Vong Honolulu OGCV Voter Vredenburg Sarasota OGCV Voter Walker Hood River OGCV Voter Whitco Boulder OGCV Voter White Highland Park OGCV Voter Williss Colorado OGCV Voter Zatcoff Richmond OGCV Voter1 Zatcoff Richmond OGCV Voter2 Zhaurova Worcester OGCV Voter