



People Helping People Build a Safer World®

2020 Appeal Hearing Agenda Preemption

August 31, 2020



ICC 2020 APPEAL HEARING PREEMPTION

APPEALS BY AGA/APGA, AHRI, NAHB August 31, 2020, via Webex Event at 9:00 a.m. Central

AGENDA

Visit the appeals <u>webpage</u> on ICCsafe.org for related documentation and information on the 2019 Group B Appeal Hearings.

Virtual meeting note: We will be using Webex Event. Be sure Webex is loaded on your computer. The audio will be limited to the audio on your computer. Call-in via phone is not available. Be sure your computer audio is muted when not speaking. Those who will be testifying utilizing the "?" (Q & A function on Webex Event) (e.g. agenda item 4.2.2) are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the feature prior to the start of the hearing. The chat function will be disabled during the hearing.

For technical issues, please contact Webex Support at 866-229-3239 or email ICC IT support staff at EventSupport@iccsafe.org.

Webex Event will be activated at 8:45 a.m. Central, 15 minutes prior to the start of the hearing.

1. Roll call

Appellants
AGA/APGA:
Jim Ranfone, AGA
Ted Williams, AGA
Renee M. Lani, APGA

AHRI:

Caroline Davidson-Hood, AHRI

NAHB:

Craig Drumheller, NAHB Megan Berge, Legal Counsel Joshua Lee, Legal Counsel Jared Wigginton, Legal Counsel

Participants
See Appendix A

ICC Staff
Mike Pfeiffer, SVP of Technical Services
Mel Oncu, General Counsel

Appeals Board

Cindy Davis, CBO, Appeals Board Chair, ICC Board Vice President

Anne Anderson, P.E., S.E. Green Mountain Structural Engineering

Henry Green, Hon. AIA, Retired, Past President of ICC; Former President & CEO of National Institute of Building Sciences

John Terry, CBO, Retired, Former Assistant Director of Division of Codes and Standards, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs; Past Chair of ICC Codes and Standards Council

- 2.Call to order Chair Davis
 - 2.1 Opening remarks
- 3. Appeal procedure (CP 1)
 - 3.1 Right to appeal (2.0)
 - 3.2 Appeal filing (3.0)
 - 3.3 Notice of appeal (6.1)
 - 3.4 Notice of hearing (6.2)
 - 3.5 Written views received (6.1.3)
 - 3.5.1 See Appendix B
 - 3.6 Hearing participants (6.1.3 & 6.3.12)
 - 3.7 Hearing procedure (6.3)
- 4. Presentation Support appeal
 - 4.1 Appellants (30 minutes each)
 - 4.1.1 PowerPoint presentations
 - 4.2 Others in support (5 minutes)
 - 4.2.1 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 5. Presentation International Code Council
 - 5.1 PowerPoint presentation (30 minutes)
- 6. Presentation Oppose appeal (5 minutes)
 - **6.1 PowerPoint presentations**
 - 6.2 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 7. Rebuttal Verbal rebuttal only
 - 7.1 Support appeal
 - 7.1.1 Appellant (10 minutes)
 - 7.1.2 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function (2 minutes)
 - 7.2 International Code Council (10 minutes)
 - 7.3 Oppose appeal (2 minutes)
 - 7.3.1 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function
- 8. Additional questions from the Appeals Board

- 9. Closing remarks/Identification of next steps
 9.1 Appeals Board Executive Session
 9.2 Notification of Appeals Board Recommendation
 9.3 Code Council Board action
- 10. Public portion adjourned

APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

APPENDIX A - PARTICIPANTS

The following participants have registered for this appeal hearing via ICC's registration process as of the distribution/posting of this agenda.

First Name	Last Name	Company
David	Beahm	County of Warren, Virginia
Sharon	Bonesteel	Salt River Project
Amy	Boyce	IMT
Marie	Carpizo	AHRI
Dave	Collins	AIA
Shannon	Corcoran	AHRI
Brian	Cothroll	A.O. Smith Corporation
John	Couture	Building Official BBRS
Bill	Fay	Energy Efficient Codes Coalition
Chuck	Foster	EEI
Bryan	Holland	NEMA
Shaunna	Mozingo	Mozingo Code Group
David	Pettit	NRDC
Steve	Rosenstock	EEI
Lauren	Urbanek	NRDC
Jason	Vandever	SPEER

APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

APPENDIX B - WRITTEN COMMENTS

The following is a list of individuals/organizations who provided written comments by the deadline of 8/17/2020 in accordance with the Notice of Appeal Hearings. These comments have been distributed to the Appeals Board and Appellant(s) and have been posted on the appeals webpage.

Below are the file names of the posted comments:

Bonesteel_SRP_Preemption Boros Rheem Preemption Boyce_IMT_Preemption Colliins AIA Preemption RE126 Collins AIA Preemption RE107 Davidson_Hood_AHRI_Preemption Dennis_NRECA_Preemption_RE126 Drumheller_NAHB_Preemption Edelson_NBI_Preemption Fay_EECC_Preemption ICC Memo to Appeals Board Federal Preemption 2019 2 Kirschner NWGA Preemption ONeil_energy350_Preemption_RE107 Perry_ACEEE_Preemption Rosenstock EEI Preemption RE126 Swiecicki_NPGA_Preemption_RE107 Swiecicki_NPGA_RE126 Truskoski Bradfordwhite Preemption Urbanek_NRDC_Preemption