

ICC NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release October 24, 2018 www.iccsafe.org Contact: Whitney Doll (202) 568-1798 wdoll@iccsafe.org

Extraordinary building safety professionals honored at the 2018 International Code Council Annual Conference

These individuals and organizations are recognized for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council

Richmond, Va. – The International Code Council honored outstanding individuals and organizations for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council during the 2018 Annual Conference in Richmond, Va., on October 21-24, 2018.

The Bobby J. Fowler Award honors the memory of the first chairman of the Code Council Board of Directors who led the charge to consolidate three regional model code organizations into one association. This award is presented to a leader who demonstrates integrity, professionalism and compassion. This year's Fowler Award was presented posthumously to Ron Burton. Burton was committed to the Code Council since its infancy and helped to create a single set of model codes for the U.S. and the world.

The Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award is awarded to an individual whose contributions advance the code enforcement profession and the Code Council's mission. The award is presented in honor of the founders of the three model code organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement and Phil Roberts. The 2018 Code Official of the Year is Christine Rose, deputy building official for the City of Fargo, North Dakota.

The ICC Fire Service Award is presented in honor of Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code and a prominent member of the organizations that created the International Fire Code. The award is given to a member whose professional abilities and leadership serve as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals. The recipient of the 2018 ICC Fire Service Award is Chief Tonya Hoover, superintendent of the U.S. Fire Administration's National Fire Academy.

The ICC Educator of the Year Award recognizes excellence in promoting professional development. The award is given in memory of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator and Past Presiding Officer for his calm and inspiring leadership. The 2018 Educator of the Year is Colorado Code Consulting, which provides a range of building safety training options from multi-day educational events to specialized inhouse training.

The ICC Community Service Award recognizes outstanding service that promotes public health, safety and welfare. The first 2018 recipient is Community Development Department of Peoria, Illinois, for its

innovative efforts to educate the community and raise the profile of building safety. The second recipient is North Central Texas Permit Tech Chapter for helping permit technicians advance their building safety careers and support their communities.

The Innovation in Code Administration Award recognizes building safety organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services. It is sponsored jointly by the Code Council, the International Association of Fire Chiefs Fire and Life Safety Section, and the National Association of State Fire Marshals. The 2018 recipient is the City of Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Planning & Development Services for being at the forefront of repurposing existing buildings to increase community safety and economic stability.

The Chapter of the Year Award recognizes extraordinary performance by a chapter in promoting the goals and mission of the Code Council. The 2018 recipient is the Virginia Building and Code Officials Association for its work to advance participation in the code development process and promote the building safety profession through extensive education offerings.

The Chapter Merit Awards recognize chapters that distinguish themselves through activities demonstrating the Code Council's goals and objectives. The Washington Association of Building Officials and the Building Officials Association of Texas are recognized this year for their commitment to the next generation of code officials.

The Excellence in Public Safety Award is granted to a member of the building industry who demonstrates integrity, professionalism and dedication to public service. The 2018 recipient is Frank Bush, general manager and superintendent of Building for the Los Angeles Department of Building Safety (LADBS). Under Bush's leadership, LADBS has become one of the most progressive, innovative and efficient building departments in the nation.

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy espousing the principles of the Code Council Sustainability Membership Council and the Institute for Market Transformation. The 2018 recipient is Ron Flax, chief building official for Boulder County, Colorado. Flax has been an instrumental advocate for the county's use of the International Codes to advance energy and sustainability.

The ICC Global Award recognizes distinguished service to the Code Council's global mission and vision. The 2018 recipients are Eng. Abdulhameed Ali Al-Marzouqi, director of Policy, Contracts and Asset Management at the Department of Urban Planning and Municipalities, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, and Chuck Ramani, founder and past president of the International Accreditation Service.

The Code Council congratulates all of the 2018 award recipients.

###

About the International Code Council

The <u>International Code Council</u> is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets <u>choose the International Codes</u>.