

## **ICC NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release October 23, 2019 www.iccsafe.org Contact: Madison Neal (202) 754-1173 mneal@iccsafe.org

## International Code Council honors extraordinary building safety professionals at 2019 Annual Conference

These individuals and organizations are recognized for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council

Las Vegas, N.V. – The International Code Council honored outstanding individuals and organizations for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council during the 2019 Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, on October 21-23, 2019.

The Bobby J. Fowler Award honors the memory of the first chairman of the Code Council Board of Directors who led the charge to consolidate three regional model code organizations into one association. This award is presented to a leader who demonstrates integrity, professionalism and compassion. This year's Fowler Award was presented to Alex "Cash" Olszowy, Director of Code Enforcement for Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government.

The Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award is awarded to an individual whose contributions advance the code enforcement profession and the Code Council's mission. The award is presented in honor of the founders of the three model code organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement and Phil Roberts. The 2019 Code Official of the Year is Judy Frydland, Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Buildings.

**The ICC Fire Service Award** is presented in honor of Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code and a prominent member of the organizations that created the International Fire Code. The award is given to a member whose professional abilities and leadership serve as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals. The recipient of the 2019 ICC Fire Service Award is Jeff Shapiro, President of the International Code Consultants.

**The ICC Educator of the Year Award** recognizes excellence in promoting professional development. The award is given in memory of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator and Past Presiding Officer, for his calm and inspiring leadership. The 2019 Educator of the Year is Bob Schutz, retired Building Code Official for the City of Columbus, Ohio.

The ICC Community Service Award recognizes outstanding service that promotes public health, safety and welfare. The 2019 recipient is the Puerto Rico Construction Code Committee for its work to update the Puerto Rico Building Code following the devastation of Hurricanes Irma and Maria.

The Innovation in Code Administration Award recognizes building safety organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services. It is sponsored jointly by the Code Council, the International Association of Fire Chiefs Fire and Life Safety Section, and the National Association of State Fire Marshals. The 2019 recipient is the Planning and Development Department for the City of Rock Hill, South Carolina, for its Open for Business program that ensures new business owners have a full understanding and compliance with the building and zoning codes.

**The Chapter of the Year Award** recognizes extraordinary performance by a chapter in promoting the goals and mission of the Code Council. The 2019 recipient is the Code Administrators Association of Kentucky for its work to ensure consistent code enforcement throughout all areas of Kentucky and its efforts to promote member participation in the code development process.

The Chapter Merit Awards recognize chapters that distinguish themselves through activities demonstrating the Code Council's goals and objectives. The Central Coast Chapter, the Minnesota Association of Housing Code Officials, and the Virginia Building and Code Officials Association are recognized this year for their commitment to member education, their service to their respective communities and raising the profile of building professionals.

**The Excellence in Public Safety Award** is granted to a member of the building safety industry who demonstrates integrity, professionalism and dedication to public service. The 2019 recipient is Bill McKinney, President of the New Hampshire Building Officials Association.

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy espousing the principles of the Code Council Sustainability Membership Council. The 2019 recipients are John Umphress, Senior Green Building and Sustainability Consultant for the Austin Energy Green Building Program, and the American Society of Interior Designers.

**The ICC Global Award** recognizes distinguished service to the Code Council's global mission and vision. The 2019 recipient is the Caribbean Community Regional Organization for Standards and Quality (CROSQ) led by Chief Executive Officer Deryck Omar.

The Code Council congratulates all the 2019 award recipients.

###

## **About the International Code Council**

The <u>International Code Council</u> is a nonprofit association that provides a wide range of building safety solutions including product evaluation, accreditation, certification, codification and training. It develops model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures.