

People Helping People Build a Safer World®

2020 Appeal Hearing Agenda Scope and Intent

September 3, 2020



ICC 2020 APPEAL HEARING SCOPE AND INTENT

APPEALS BY AGA/APGA, LBA, NAHB September 3, 2020, via Webex Event at 9:00 a.m. Central

AGENDA

Visit the appeals <u>webpage</u> on ICCsafe.org for related documentation and information on the 2019 Group B Appeal Hearings.

Virtual meeting note: We will be using Webex Event. Be sure Webex is loaded on your computer. The audio will be limited to the audio on your computer. Call-in via phone is not available. Be sure your computer audio is muted when not speaking. Those who will be testifying utilizing the "?" (Q & A function on Webex Event) (e.g. agenda item 4.2.2) are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the feature prior to the start of the hearing. The chat function will be disabled during the hearing.

For technical issues, please contact Webex Support at 866-229-3239 or email ICC IT support staff at <u>EventSupport@iccsafe.org</u>.

Webex Event will be activated at 8:45 a.m. Central, 15 minutes prior to the start of the hearing.

1. Roll call

<u>Appellants</u> AGA/APGA: Jim Ranfone, AGA Ted Williams, AGA Renee M. Lani, APGA

LBA: Ken Gear, LBA Amanda Hickman, Rep: LBA Bill Koffel, Rep: LBA Clayton Traylor, LBA

NAHB: Craig Drumheller, NAHB Gerald Howard, NAHB Megan Berge, Legal Counsel Joshua Lee, Legal Counsel Jared Wigginton, Legal Counsel

Participants See Appendix A <u>ICC Staff</u> Mike Pfeiffer, SVP of Technical Services Mel Oncu, General Counsel

<u>Appeals Board</u> Cindy Davis, CBO, Appeals Board Chair, ICC Board Vice President

Anne Anderson, P.E., S.E. Green Mountain Structural Engineering

Henry Green, Hon. AIA, Retired, Past President of ICC; Former President & CEO of National Institute of Building Sciences

John Terry, CBO, Retired, Former Assistant Director of Division of Codes and Standards, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs; Past Chair of ICC Codes and Standards Council

- 2.Call to order Chair Davis 2.1 Opening remarks
- 3. Appeal procedure (CP 1)
 - 3.1 Right to appeal (2.0)
 - 3.2 Appeal filing (3.0)
 - 3.3 Notice of appeal (6.1)
 - 3.4 Notice of hearing (6.2)
 - 3.5 Written views received (6.1.3)
 - 3.5.1 See Appendix B
 - 3.6 Hearing participants (6.1.3 & 6.3.12)
 - 3.7 Hearing procedure (6.3)
- 4. Presentation Support appeal
 - 4.1 Appellants (30 minutes each)
 - 4.1.1 PowerPoint presentations
 - 4.2 Others in support (5 minutes)
 - 4.2.1 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 5. Presentation International Code Council 5.1 PowerPoint presentation (30 minutes)
- 6. Presentation Oppose appeal (5 minutes)
 - 6.1 PowerPoint presentations
 - 6.2 Verbal testimony using Webex Q & A function
- 7. Rebuttal Verbal rebuttal only
 - 7.1 Support appeal
 - 7.1.1 Appellant (10 minutes)
 - 7.1.2 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function (2 minutes)
 - 7.2 International Code Council (10 minutes)
 - 7.3 Oppose appeal (2 minutes)
 - 7.3.1 Verbal rebuttal using Webex Q & A function
- 8. Additional questions from the Appeals Board

- 9. Closing remarks/Identification of next steps
 9.1 Appeals Board Executive Session
 9.2 Notification of Appeals Board Recommendation
 9.3 Code Council Board action
- 10. Public portion adjourned

APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

APPENDIX A – PARTICIPANTS

The following participants have registered for this appeal hearing via ICC's registration process as of the distribution/posting of this agenda.

First Name	Last Name	Company
David	Beahm	County of Warren, Virginia
Sharon	Bonesteel	Salt River Project
Amy	Воусе	IMT
Dave	Collins	AIA
Bill	Fay	Energy Efficient Codes Coalition
Chuck	Foster	EEI
Matt	Frommer	Southwest Energy Efficient Project
Bryan	Holland	NEMA
Shaunna	Mozingo	Mozingo Code Group
Chris	Perry	ACEEE
Steve	Rosenstock	EEI
Tim	Ryan	IABO
Lauren	Urbanek	NRDC
Jason	Vandever	SPEER

APPEAL HEARING AGENDA

APPENDIX B – WRITTEN COMMENTS

The following is a list of individuals/organizations who provided written comments by the deadline of 8/19/2020 in accordance with the Notice of Appeal Hearings. These comments have been distributed to the Appeals Board and Appellant(s) and have been posted on the appeals webpage. Below are the file names of the posted comments:

Bobzien Nevada Scope Bonesteel SRP Scope Boyce IMT Scope Bunch Seattle Scope Burke Colorado Scope Cartney Edwardsville Scope Castro Orlando Scope Cheslak NBI Scope Collins AIA Scope CE217 Collins_AIA_Scope_RE147 Drumheller NAHB Scope Fay EECC Scope Frommer SWEEP Scope Hickman LBA Scope Holland NEMA Scope Kinsey NESCAUM Scope Kirschner WWGA Scope Knapp Philadelphia Scope Marion Pittsburgh Scope Miller Minneapolis Scope Owens Colorado Scope Perry ACEEE Scope Phillips Colorado Scope **Ribbins SECORES Scope** Rogers Milwaukie Scope1 Rogers Milwaukie Scope2 Rosenstock EEI Scope1 Rosenstock EEI Scope2 Schluter Scope Scott Mayors Caucus Scope Stark St Paul Scope Swiecicki NPGA Scope RE147 Swieckicki NPGA Scope CE217 Urbanek NRDC Scope Vong Honolulu Scope Wahl Tesla Scope Walker Hood River Scope Whitco Boulder Scope White Highland Park Scope Zatcoff Richmond Scope Zhaurova Worcester Scope