## ICC INTERNATIONAL

### **International Code Council**

# PUBLIC MEETING Magnesium Oxide Board Standard Consensus Committee (IS-MGOB) (Preliminary Minutes)

The ninth public meeting of the ICC Magnesium Oxide Board Standard Consensus Committee (IS-MGOB) was convened on April 11, 2025, to review the public comments of the initial draft of the standard. The teleconference meeting was conducted through Teams.

#### 1. Meeting Opening

a. Opening remarks, objective of the meeting, and housekeeping:

Committee Chair, Jarrett Davis called the meeting to order at 10:05 am EDT and welcomed all committee members, interested parties and ICC staff. All meeting participants were urged to read the ICC Code of Ethics, section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests in Council Policy (CP) #7 and CP #50 Antitrust provisions in the spirit of code of conduct. These documents are on ICC's website under Corporate Governance.

### b. Quorum and membership review:

Jason Toves called the roll of the IS-MGOB with the following members registering attendance. 6 of 9 committee members were present for the required quorum in order to conduct business.

|                           | 2024 IS-OSMTH COMMITTEE MEETING |                |                |                |                |  |  |
|---------------------------|---------------------------------|----------------|----------------|----------------|----------------|--|--|
| NAME                      | #1<br>05/07/24                  | #2<br>07/02/24 | #3<br>09/10/24 | #4<br>10/10/24 | #5<br>10/17/24 |  |  |
| Jarrett Davis [C] - Chair | X                               | Х              | X              | X              | X              |  |  |
| William "Don" Allen [B]   | -                               | Х              | X              | X              | X              |  |  |
| Justin Clay [H]           | X                               |                | X              | X              |                |  |  |
| Dale Kempster [B]         | -                               | Х              |                | X              | X              |  |  |
| Ryan Marino [C]           | X                               |                | X              | X              | X              |  |  |
| Keith Nelson [A]          | X                               | Х              | X              | X              | X              |  |  |
| Jim Wambaugh [A]          | X                               |                | X              | X              | X              |  |  |
| Felix Wong [D]            | Х                               |                |                | X              | X              |  |  |
| Wenyi (Wayne) Zhang [A]   | -                               | Х              | Х              | X              | X              |  |  |
| TOTAL                     | 6/9                             | 5/9            | 7/9            | 9/9            | 8/9            |  |  |

| NAME                      | 2024 IS-OSMTH COMMITTEE MEETING |                |                |                |  |  |
|---------------------------|---------------------------------|----------------|----------------|----------------|--|--|
|                           | #6<br>11/25/24                  | #7<br>03/14/25 | #8<br>03/28/25 | #9<br>04/11/25 |  |  |
| Jarrett Davis [C] - Chair | X                               | X              | Х              | X              |  |  |
| William "Don" Allen [B]   | Х                               | Х              | Х              | Х              |  |  |
| Justin Clay [H]           | Х                               |                | Х              |                |  |  |
| Dale Kempster [B]         | Х                               | Х              | Х              | Х              |  |  |
| Ryan Marino [C]           | Х                               | Х              | Х              | Х              |  |  |
| Keith Nelson [A]          | Х                               | Х              |                | Х              |  |  |
| Jim Wambaugh [A]          | Х                               | X              | X              | Х              |  |  |
| Felix Wong [D]            |                                 |                |                |                |  |  |
| Wenyi (Wayne) Zhang [A]   | Х                               | Х              | Х              |                |  |  |
| TOTAL                     | 8                               | 7              | 7              | 6              |  |  |

- c. The March 28, 2024, meeting minutes were approved. Motion for approval made by Jim Wambaugh, seconded by Don Allen and approved (4-0-2) Chair Not Voting (CNV).
- d. The agenda was approved for the meeting. Motion for approval of agenda as shown on screen made by Keith Nelson and seconded by Jim Wambaugh and passed (5-0-1). CNV.
- 2. Review of the public comments led by Chair Jarrett Davis.
  - a. Subgroup Reports (continue until time allows: 11:45 EDT)
    - i. SG2: Chapter 4; Wall Sheathing: Keith Nelson stated that the resolution for all items has been agreed upon, but the language needs to be written.
      - 1. Future meetings for Subgroup 2 are Tuesday, April 15<sup>th</sup>, 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m EDT and Friday 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. EDT.
    - ii. Keith Nelson made a motion to set an 11<sup>th</sup> Public Meeting for Friday May 2<sup>nd</sup>, at 10:00 a.m. EDT. Ryan Marino seconded the motion. The motion was approved (4-1-1). CNV.
    - iii. SG4: Chapter 7 & 8; Floor and Roof Sheathing
      - 1. New Sections 704 & 804 were approved at the last meeting. Editorial changes presented by Jarrett Davis. Don Allen made a motion to approve the editorial changes. The motion was seconded by Jim Wambaugh. The motion was approved (5-0-1).
    - iv. SG1: Chapters 1-3, and 10; General, Requirements, Referenced Standards
      - 1. Jarrett Davis presented subgroup recommendations.
        - a. The GA governmental representative agreed on the draft language during the subgroup meeting (GA Comment 2)
          - Keith Nelson made a motion to accept the revisions that resulted from the GA comments as shown. Don Allen seconded the motion. The motion was approved (5-0-1). CNV 1
        - b. The subgroup and the commentor with GA agreed to leave the last published version of the standard. (GA Comment 4)
          - Don Allen a motion to leave ASTM C666 with the last published version of the standard. Jim Wambaugh seconded the motion. The motion was approved (5-01). CNV.
        - c. The commentor agreed to leave the years of the referenced standards as shown in the initial draft. (GA Comment 5)

- i. Jim Wambaugh made a motion to leave the language in the initial draft unchanged. Ryan Marino Seconded the motion. The motion was approved (5-0-1). CNV
- d. The use of alternative agreed to leave the language for FRTW in the standard. (GA Comment 7 and Keith Nelson Comment 7)
  - i. The Subgroup deleted Section 302.14
  - ii. Doon Allen made motion to remove Section 302.14 based on both comments. Jim Wambaugh seconded the motion. The motion was approved (5-0-1).
- v. Schedule of future meetings discussed while Don Allen stepped away.
  - 1. SG5 anticipates to complete its work with next meeting.
  - 2. SG3 is idle at this time.
  - 3. SG4 is idle at this time.
    - a. SG6 scheduled a meeting for Monday, April 28<sup>th</sup>, at 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. EDT.
- 3. Workplan Presented by Jason Toves.
  - a. Work tentatively to be completed at the May 2nd Consensus Committee Meeting.
- 4. Action Items & Adjournment: Next Public Consensus meeting is scheduled for April 25, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. EDT (2 hours). Other meeting: May 2, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. EDT (2 hours).

The action items from the meeting were summarized as follows:



With no other questions or comments before the committee Don Allen proposed adjournment, Jim Wambaugh seconded the motion and Jarrett Davis adjourned the meeting at pm 12:00 p.m. EDT.