

## Minutes of the Meeting of the Fire Service Membership Council Governing Committee

#### Thursday, April 21, 2022 1:30 p.m. EST

### "Founded by Members to Serve our Members . . . Benefitting Communities Worldwide"

The minutes of the FSMC Governing Committee Meeting are now available by video on YouTube. The link for this month's meeting is: <a href="https://youtu.be/2Kn-JOA3FIU">https://youtu.be/2Kn-JOA3FIU</a>

FSMC Governing Committee Members	Representing	Present
Christine Reed – Chair Central County Fire Department, CA	ICC	
Timothy Diehl Howard County DPW/Bureau of Facilities	ICC	X
Bryan Adams Pleasant Valley Fire District, OH	ICC	X
Rick Boisvert Brighton Area Fire Authority, MI	IAFC:GL	X
Robert Buxton Hudson Fire Department, NH	IAFC:NE	X
Michael Desrochers State of Vermont Division of Fire Safety	NASFM	
Gary Farley Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office	NASFM	
William Hyde Rogers Fire Department, AR	IAFC:SW	X
Andy King Franklin Fire Department, TN	IAFC:SE	
John Lane Anne Arundel County Fire Department, MD	ICC	X
Jonathan Lund City of Des Moines Fire Department, IA	IAFC:MV	X
Larry Medina Bend Fire and Rescue, OR	IAFC:W	X
Doug Nelson North Dakota State Fire Marshal's Office	NASFM	X
Coy Porter Utah State Fire Marshal's Office (Ret.) Provo, UT	NASFM	X
Steve Swarthout Global Fire Protection Group Winchester, CA	ICC	
Mark Wassom Olathe Fire Department, KS	ICC	X
TBD Appointment Pending	IAFC:E	
TBD Appointment Pending	IAFC:C	

International Code Council (ICC) Directors, Liaisons, and Staff		
Jim Sayers ICC Board of Directors, FSMC Liaison to the ICC BOD Clackamas County, OR		
Mike Boso ICC Board of Directors Grove City, OH	X	
Randy Metz ICC Board of Directors City of Carlsbad, CA	X	
Karl Fippinger FSMC Staff Liaison - Vice President, Fire & Disaster Mitigation ICC	X	
Tim Schmitz FSMC Staff Liaison Lead Senior Regional Manager ICC		
Rick Hauffe Senior Regional Manager, Government Relations ICC		
Mike Luna Senior Director ICC NTA	X	

Members/Guests Joining by Teleconference	Present			
Rick Bruder Assistant Fire Marshal/Plans Examiner Tulsa (OK) Fire Department				
Kathy Clay Battalion Chief/Fire Marshal Jackson Hole (WY) Fire/EMS Jackson, WY	X			
Paul Coleman, Sr. Manager Material & Industry Sustainability Huntsman Corporation	X			
Darcy Davidson Assistant Fire Marshal Carlsbad (CA) Fire Department				
Jeffrey H. Greenwald, P.E., CAE North American Modern Building Alliance Washington, DC	X			
Jeremiah Hamilton Fire Marshal City of Kenai (AK) Fire Department	X			
Joshua Harmon Sustainability Membership Council Liaison to the FSMC Assistant Manager, Building and Zoning Department Clinton County, OH				
Dwight Havens Fire Code Official (Ret.)/Fire Engineer Round Lake (NY) Fire Department				
Ed Kaminski Fire Protection Engineer Clark County, NV				
Robert Marshall Supervising Deputy Fire Marshal San Diego Fire Rescue San Diego, CA				
Mark Matheny Chief Building Official, Development Services Department City of Asheville, NC	X			
Byron Mathews Division Chief - Cheyenne (WY) Fire Department	X			
Joe McElvaney Lead FPE The Hiller Companies Phoenix, AZ	X			
Rock Meng Global Membership Council Liaison to FSMC Capitol Fire Protection Engineering				
Kelly Nicolello Senior Regulatory Engineer UL	X			
Melinda Ost Fire Prevention Inspector Peoria (AZ) Fire-Medical				
Shamim Rashid-Sumar VP, Fire Codes and Standards National Ready Mixed Concrete Association	X			
Adria Reinertson Deputy Fire Marshal CAL FIRE/Riverside County (CA) Fire Department	X			
Brian Scholl Deputy Fire Marshal - Phoenix (AZ) Fire Department	X			
Jeff Shapiro International Code Consultants Austin, TX	X			
Steve Toth Fire Marshal Department of Permitting Services Montgomery County, MD	X			
Lauren Wood Emerging Leaders Membership Council Liaison to FSMC Lexington (KY) Building Inspection Services	X			

#### FSMC Governing Committee Meeting Agenda:

- 1) Call to Order/Roll Call/Welcome guests and prospective new members (Diehl/Fippinger)
- 2) Guest Presentation

# Update from ICC NTA Mike Luna Sr. Director of Building Products ICC NTA

- 3) Opening Remarks from the Chair (Diehl for Reed)
  - a) Additions or Corrections to the Agenda
  - b) Approval of Minutes
    - i. March 26-27, 2022 In-person & Virtual Microsoft Teams
- 4) 2021 Work Group Updates (Diehl/Fippinger)
  - a) Member Recruitment (King)
  - b) Emerging Issues and Trends (Desrochers)
  - c) Public Awareness (Swarthout)
  - d) Training and Education (Wassom)
- 5) Reports from Officers (Diehl)
  - a) FSMC Governing Committee Board Liaison (Sayers)
  - b) Other ICC Officers and Directors
  - c) Report from the Chair (Deferred for April)
  - d) Report from the Vice Chair (Diehl)
  - e) Staff liaison (Fippinger)
- 6) On-Going Business
  - a) Feedback to FSMC Board Liaison Sayers RE: Rochester Meeting (Swarthout/Wassom)
  - b) ICC Annual Awards Process
    - i. Robert W. Gain Fire Prevention Leadership Award
    - ii. Innovation in Code Administration Award
- 7) New Business
  - a) FSMC Building Safety Month activities (Diehl)
- 8) Next Meeting
  - a) Thursday, May 19, 2022 @ 1:30 p.m. EDT
- 9) Questions/Comments from the Audience
- 10) Good of the Order
- 11) Adjourn

Christine Reed, Chair 2022 FSMC Governing Committee Tim Diehl, Vice-Chair 2022 FSMC Governing Committee

#### 2022 FSMC Meeting Schedule

Jan.	Feb.	Mar.	Apr.	May	June	July	Aug.	Sept.	Oct.	Nov.	Dec.
20	17	27	21	19	16	21	18	11	20	17	15
Virtual	Virtual	In-	Virtual	Virtual	Virtual	Virtual	Virtual	In-	Virtual	Virtual	Virtual
		person						Person			

For questions or additional information, contact:

Karl Fippinger Vice President, Government Relations Fire and Disaster Mitigation FSMC Staff Liaison International Code Council

Direct: 202.730.3946 Cell: 571.237.6237

Email: kfippinger@iccsafe.org