The International Code Council’s Master Code Professional (MCP) designation is the highest level of ICC certification and is the “gold standard” for demonstrating proficiency in the code profession. Currently, there are more than 900 MCP professionals worldwide, and their achievements are a benefit to the code enforcement profession, as well as their communities. By becoming a Master Code Professional, the highest level of certification in the Code Council’s program, you can increase earnings and advance your career. The Council has certified thousands of individuals, but only a select number have attained this high-level of achievement.

Since the start of 2018, 23 select code professionals have achieved the prestigious Master Code Professional designation:


David Alkins | Royse City, Texas, United States
Prodromos Antoniadis | North Potomac, Maryland, United States
Abdulhakim Bayyoud | Port Royal, South Carolina, United States
Aaron Bingham | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
JP Carruthers-Green | Slater, Iowa, United States
Allen Elkins | San Mateo, California, United States
John Flumerfelt | Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Christopher Gaw | O’Fallon, Missouri, United States
Christian Greene | Sunnyvale, California, United States
Daniel Knoch | Loris, South Carolina, United States
Lindsay Levasseur | Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Seth McMillan | Santa Maria, California, United States
James Melvin | Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Brian Nicarry | Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Shane Nilles | Cheney, Washington, United States
Hipolito Olmos | Gilroy, California, United States
Kyle Parag | Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Amrinder Singh | Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Martin Steach | Saxton, Pennsylvania, United States
Scott Steen | Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Michael Tomko | Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Paul Warlop | Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Jose Zavala | Joliet, Illinois, United States


“The Master Code Professional certification is the pinnacle of all ICC certifications, representing a level of effort, knowledge and dedication that elevates not only the individual achieving it but the code official profession as a whole,” said Code Council Chief Executive Officer Dominic Sims, CBO.

To become an ICC Master Code Professional, a candidate must first pass 10 core ICC exams plus an additional number of elective ICC exams. Typical Master Code Professionals hold 17 or more ICC certifications. To become Master Code Professional, certified individuals must complete an additional 60 hours of Continuing Education Units every three years to maintain active status. Master Code Professionals are typically responsible for all technical and management aspects of code enforcement with duties that range from the management of a code enforcement department to the supervision of inspectors and plan reviewers.

Learn more on how you can join this elite group and let us help you open the door to increased professional challenges and career advancement. Click here for an application to receive a Master Code Professional designation.


Master Code Professionals at the International Code Council’s 2016 Annual Conference in Kansas City, Mo. These dedicated men and women demonstrate commitment to the profession through achievement of this high level of certification.