State Adoptions

The 2015 IECC applies to residential and commercial construction for which permits are issued statewide. The Illinois State Board of Education has adopted the 2015 IBC, IFC, IMC, IFGC, IPMC, IECC, IEBC for Pre-K thru 12 public Education Facilities (other than vehicular), but do not apply to Chicago. IBC adopted by Dept. of Health for hospitals where local codes do not apply.


The below codes are in effect for State owned facilities and school construction:

  • 2009 International Building Code
  • 2015 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2015 International Existing Building Code
  • 2015 International Fire Code (excluding Chapter 4)
  • 2015 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • 2015 International Property Maintenance Code



Links to State Adoption Agencies

Capital Development Board

State Board of Education

Department of Energy

Illinois State Fire Marshal

State Insurance Commissioner

Department of Natural Resources

Department of Public Health

Key Contacts

Capital Development Board:
Lisa Mattingly, PE, Administrator
Professional Services
William G. Stratton Building
401 S. Spring St.
Third Floor, Stratton Bldg
Springfield, IL 62706

Illinois State Board of Education:
Susan Weitekamp
100 North First Street, N-330
Springfield, IL  62777
(217) 785-8779

State Fire Marshal:
Matthew Perez
Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal
1035 Adlai Stevenson Drive
Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: (217) 785-0969

State Insurance Commissioner:
Acting Director Andrew Stolfi
320 W. Washington
Springfield, IL 62767
Phone: (217) 782-4515

State Forester:
IL Department of Natural Resources
Marc Miller, Director
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, IL 62702-1271
Phone: (217) 782-6302

Pool/Plumbing Adoption Agency:
IL Department of Public Health
Director Justin DeWitt
Illinois Department of Public Health
535 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, Illinois 62761
Phone: (217) 782-4977