Standard Development Process

The Code Council adheres to openness and transparency in our Standards development process. All of our Standards committee meetings are open to the public. Any interested party can participate in committee meetings and can be considered by the committee for membership on any work-group that the committee creates.

For more information on the Standard Development Process, contact Karl Aittaniemi, Director-Standards Development.

Standard Development Policy and Procedures and Forms

Download official ICC policies, procedures and forms for standards development and ICC staff standards opinions.

Webinar: Industry Standard Advances

Karl Aittaniemi, P.E., Director of Standards presented a webinar for our spring ICC Learn Live with a broad overview and explanation of International Code Council standards and the Code Council's standards developing process.

Webinar video (password: 4xEW5Hba)

Webinar PowerPoints

Standard Development & Consensus Committees

Review information on the Code Council Consensus Committees (CC's) and the development of Code Council I-Standards, including development schedules, CC meeting minutes, Public Proposals & Comments, Public Proposals Reports (PPR), Public Comments Reports (PCR), draft documents, and committee lists.

ANSI Accreditation

The International Code Council is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as a standards developing organization that adheres to ANSI’s Essential Requirements for openness, balance, consensus and due process. Participation of the various stakeholders in an equitable, accessible and responsive environment is key in developing a consensus standard for recognition as an American National Standard.

The Code Council’s experience as a structured platform upon which consensus is achieved from industry stakeholder input places the Code Council in an ideal position as a standards developer.  The Code Council also has the capability to augment the resources of other SDO’s seeking to develop standards for their respective industries.  With the Code Council’s global membership representing more than 38 countries, its reach touches upon individuals experienced in facets peripheral to the building industry.  In other words, the Code Council can develop ANSI-approved standards that go beyond building codes.

The Code Council's Consensus Procedures used to develop ICC Standards were ANSI Approved in April 2020.  As a standards developing organization this current version provides the Code Council with a streamlined method to develop Standards in the most time efficient manner in the industry.


Standards Errata