The ICC Community Service Award

The ICC Community Service Award recognizes outstanding service that promotes public health, safety and welfare.

The first 2017 Community Service Award was given to Women in Code Enforcement and Development (WICED) and PermitTechNation (PTN) received one of two ICC Community Service Awards presented for meritorious service to promote public health, safety and welfare. Working together, these two organizations have established a growing tradition of service that has become a highlight of ICC annual conferences — volunteering their time and energy to work with Habitat for Humanity. Read more


The second recipient was the Building Department of the City of San Jose, Calif., for its innovative approach to community outreach and public education. The San Jose Building Department is well known for its innovative approach to community outreach and public education. From Building Safety Month events, to code adoption workshops and permit streamlining initiatives, the department strives to serve as a partner to the city.


Previous Community Service Award Winners

2016: of Newport Beach, Calif., Building Division

2015: Southern Nevada Chapter; Leon Valley (TX) Fire Department

2014: Rebuilding Together Aurora [IL]; Aurora Building & Permits

2013: Butte County (CA) Department of Development Services —

 Building Division; FEMA Building Science Branch

2012: Deborah Vanek

2011: Tony Falcone

2010: City of Ft. Smith, Arkansas Development Services Department

2009: The Building Officials Association of Suffolk County

2008: Sun City, Arizona Fire Prevention Bureau

2007: Scott McDonald; Don Plass

2006: Jill Gray; Washington Association of Building Officials

2005: Quinn Davis

2004: Phillip Randal Whisman

2003: City of Asheville, North Carolina; Ron Hampton; Jerry Mallory

The nomination period for the 2018 Community Service Award has ended.
Stay tuned for announcements about the opening of the 2019 nomination period.