The Innovation in Code Administration Award

The International Code Council Government Relations Innovation in Code Administration Awards Program recognizes fire and building organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services in their communities.

The award program is sponsored by the International Association of Fire Chiefs-Fire and Life Safety Section (IAFC-FLSS), the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) and the Government Relations Division of the International Code Council, a US-based member-focused organization that promulgates building and fire safety codes. Fire and building departments across the country are developing new and innovative approaches to delivering code administration services as part of community risk reduction efforts. IAFC-FLSS, NASFM and ICC want to recognize these organizations and share their innovations with other departments seeking new and workable code enforcement solutions.

Call for Nominations

Code enforcement is one of the five pillars of community risk reduction that include education, enforcement, engineering, economics and emergency response.  Building and fire codes establish the minimum level of risk a community is willing to accept for the built environment, and organizations that enforce these codes are consistently challenged to adopt, modify, interpret and apply them in a manner that meets a communities ever-changing demands.  Innovative tools and techniques in code enforcement should be shared to improve the effectiveness of code enforcement at reducing risk from death, injury, fires and other natural or manmade disasters.

Award Eligibility

The nominee must be a building or fire code organization that provides code administration services to one or more jurisdictions.  This may include fire departments, fire marshal’s offices, ICC Chapters, councils of governments, building departments or other public sector organizations that are charged with code administration.  Individuals are not eligible for this award.

The organization must have implemented a unique practice that enhances building or fire code administration services in the community.

The practice should have resulted in a positive impact on public and firefighter safety, measurable reduction in deaths, injuries or property damage, and/or the quality, effectiveness or efficiency of code administration services.

An organization can nominate itself.

Award Presentation

Recipients of the Award will be honored during Building Safety Month and at the annual Building Safety Month Reception held in Washington, DC. The Award winners will be announced during the reception, and IAFC-FLSS, NASFM and ICC will inform the public of these awards through their regular media outlets.

The award can be presented to organizations each year representing a code administration agency.

Award Criteria

Applications can be submitted at any time.  The application should include the following information:

  1. Applicant(s) name, organization(s) and contact information (mailing address, email address, telephone numbers).
  2. Explain what prompted the agency to develop the practice, and whether it was an issue for only one agency or endemic to other code enforcement agencies as well. Also identify whether the practice impacted code administration at the local, county, regional and/or state level.
  3. How does this innovation align with the ICC mission, vision and goals?
  4. Is this a new project/program or did your organization model it after an existing program developed by another organization? If modeled after another program, identify it and how you learned of it.
  5. Did the organization develop partnerships with other organizations or government agencies (e.g. the private sector, law enforcement, research centers, learning institutions or other code enforcement agencies) to implement the program? If so, please describe the partnership.
  6. Describe how the jurisdiction measures successful outcomes. Provide demonstrated measurable outcomes/accomplishments attributed to the program.
  7. What efforts are being accomplished to sustain the program?

You may submit additional documentation to support the nomination.

Application Deadline

The deadline to submit applications for the annual Award is March 31.  Applications must be submitted to the International Code Council, Membership Services, 900 Montclair Road, Birmingham, Alabama, 35213, by email to, by fax 205-591-0775.

Questions about the Award or application process should be submitted to Karla Higgs, vice president Membership Services, 1.888.422.7233, Extension 5268 or

Selection Committee

The selection committee will be composed of representatives from the International Code Council Fire Service and Building Official Membership Council Governing Committees, including their IAFC-FLSS and NASFM representatives.  Members of the joint selection committee will be appointed by the respective chairs of the Fire Service Membership Council Governing Committee and Building Official Membership Council Governing Committee.

The chair of the selection committee will alternate between the Fire Service Membership Council (odd numbered years) and the Building Official Membership Council (even numbered years).

Award History

In 2016, the International Code Council, in association with the International Association of Fire Chiefs-Fire and Life Safety Section (IAFC-FLSS), the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) and the Government Relations Division of the International Code Council, created the International Code Council Government Relations Innovation in Code Enforcement Award. At the time, there did not exist a nationally-recognized award specifically honoring code enforcement organizations that were innovative in their approaches to fire or building code enforcement. The first winner of the Innovation in Code Administration Award was the City of St. Paul, Minnesota, Department of Safety in 2017.