The Educator of the Year Award

The International Code Council is proud of the dedication and commitment of its members from around the world. Given in honor of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator and Past Presiding Officer, the ICC Educator of the Year Award recognizes excellence in promoting professional development.

The 2017 Educator of the Year Award was given to Bill Bracken, a nationally-recognized expert in structural engineering and disaster response. Bracken is one of the main developers of ICC’s When Disaster Strikes Institute, one of only two programs in the nation accepted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for structural assessment after a disaster.


Previous Educator of the Year Award Winners

2016: Chief Building Official Steve Burger

2015: Colorado Education Institute

2010: John Gibson

2009: Terrell Stripling

2008: Doug Thornburg


Is there someone you would like to nominate for the 2018 Award?

2003: David L. Wismer

The nomination period for the 2018 Educator of the Year Award has ended.
Stay tuned for announcements about the opening of the 2019 nomination period.