The Fire Service Award

The ICC Fire Service Award is presented in honor of Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code and a prominent member of the organizations that created the International Fire Code (IFC). The award is given to a member whose professional abilities and leadership serve as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals.

The 2017 ICC Fire Service Award was given to Gary Lewis for his dedication to fire prevention protection and education. Lewis’ unique blend of experience, expertise and knowledge has contributed significantly to the success of the IFC. He served three terms as president of the New Jersey Fire Prevention and Protection Association, and has served on numerous code development committees. Lewis is also a qualified expert witness and has developed post incident codes and standards analyses for many federal cases.



Previous Fire Service Award Winners

2016: Ronald S. Lilley

2015: Chief Joseph Finnegan

2014: Kelly Nicolello

2013: Fulton Cochran

2012: Joseph Sauerwein

2011: Ken Kraus

2010: Sean DeCrane

2009: Azarang “Ozzie” Mirkhah

2008: John F. Mueller

2007: Thomas Brace

2006: Robert Davidson

2005: Robert Weitzel

2004: Jackie Gibbs


The nomination period for the 2018 Fire Service Award has ended.
Stay tuned for announcements about the opening of the 2019 nomination period.