The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award 

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award (formerly the Standard Bearers Award) recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy espousing the principles of the ICC Sustainability Membership Council and the Institute for Market Transformation. The awards honor states, cities, towns and individuals who go above and beyond to raise compliance with building energy codes—and by doing so, help unlock billions in savings and improve the efficiency of America’s new and existing buildings and homes using cost-effective, practical, and innovative strategies.

Two awards are presented: one is awarded to a state or local government entity, and the other to an individual in regulation, industry or design (formerly local government entities and states were nominated separately).

The first recipient of the 2017 award was the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). PNNL’s customized code analyses for energy efficiency and cost impact in residential and construction are regularly cited by states and jurisdictions across the country when adopting or updating energy codes. PNNL also supports the Department of Energy’s advocacy for strengthening energy codes in the code development process. PNNL provides the analytical foundation for a wide range of programs including REScheck and COMcheck, widely regarded as the most effective tools in existence for promoting energy efficiency in building construction.

The second recipient of the 2017 award was Osama Younan, chief sustainability officer for the Los Angeles Department of Building Safety. Younan is a licensed Mechanical Engineer and LEED Accredited Professional. He represents the Department of Building Safety on all green building and sustainability policies and practices. Younan led the development of the Los Angeles Green Building Code and created the Department’s Green Building Division. He also is a founding member and former Chair of the California Building Standards Commission’s Green Building Code Advisory Committee.


Previous Sustainability and Energy Efficiency

Award Winners

2016 Standard Bearers Award Winners

State Jurisdiction Winner

Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs, Energy Division

Local Jurisdiction Winner

City of Chula Vista, Calif.

Energy Code Leader

Darren Meyers of Tinley Park, Ill.


2015 Standard Bearers Award Winners

State Jurisdiction Winner

Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity,

Illinois Energy & Recycling Office

 Local Jurisdiction Winner

Washington, D.C.

 Energy Code Leader

Steven E. Rinehart, Harker Heights, Texas


2014 Standard Bearers Award Winners

State Jurisdiction Winner

Mississippi Development Authority, Energy and Natural Resources Division

  Local Jurisdiction Winner

Astoria, Oregon

  Energy Code Leader

Shaunna Mozingo, Parker, Colorado


*2014 was the first year that ICC was involved.