International Usage of the I-Codes


  • Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM: 15 Caribbean countries) through the Caribbean Regional Organization for Standards and Quality (CROSQ): The Caribbean Building Standards use the IBC, IMC, IPC and IECC as base documents for that region’s regulations. The CARICOM Regional Energy Efficiency Building Code was adapted from the 2018 IECC for adoption and is used by all CARICOM members.
  • Haiti: 2009 IBC and IRC are the basis for the 2012 Code National Du Bâtiment D’Haïti [Haitian National Code]
  • Jamaica: 2009 I-Codes are the official standard for Jamaica.
  • Trinidad and Tobago: Adopting ICC A117.1-2009, 2015 IBC, IRC, IMC, IFGC, IPC and IgCC as a basis for the National Building Code for Trinidad and Tobago through a license agreement.
  • The Cayman Islands: The Cayman Islands adopts the 2009 IBC, IRC, IFC, IPC, IMC, and IFGC. .

Central America

  • Colombia: Colombia's Plumbing Code (NTC-1500) is adapted from the 2018 IPC. The upcoming revision of the Colombian Building Code (NRS-20) is expected to contain elements drawn from the 2018 IBC.
  • Honduras: 2006 IBC in Spanish as the basis code for Honduras Building Code

North America

  • Mexico: The Residential Building Code (CEV) is based on the IRC. The IECC is the basis for the IECC-Mexico the first Energy Conservation Model Code outside of the U.S.

Eastern Europe

  • Georgia: Currently using the 2006 IBC, pending update to the 2012 IBC

Middle East and North Africa

  • Abu Dhabi: I-Codes are the basis for the 2013 Abu Dhabi codes: ADIBC, ADIMC, ADIECC, ADIFGC, ADIPMC, ADIPSDC and AD Accessibility Standards
  • Saudi Arabia: The 2018 Saudi Building Codes are based on the 2015 I-Codes.
  • Afghanistan: Using the I-Codes as a working document for its national codes.
  • Dubai: The emirate of Dubai will accept architectural and engineering designs based on the IBC.
  • Qatar: The authorities in Qatar will accept architectural and engineering designs based on the IBC.


  • Ghana: The Ghana Building Code is based in part on the 2018 IBC.


  • United Nations: ICC developed the Performance Based Guidelines for the Design and Construction of Commercial Office Buildings for UN Buildings worldwide.,
  • Antarctica: the US National Science Foundation bases in Antarctica have adopted the 2018 editions of the International Building Code, the International Fire Code, and the International Existing Building Code.


Download a PDF of the code adoption maps.

Let us know if your jurisdiction has adopted any of the I-Codes.

International Code Council

Code Adoption Map

Click on a state for I-Code adoption details, or click a button to see where each code has been adopted.
Code Adoptions Placeholder
Code Adoptions

For the most current information, please refer to the adoption information from Government Relations.