The Fire Service Award

The ICC Fire Service Award is presented in honor of Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code and a prominent member of the organizations that created the International Fire Code (IFC). The award is given to a member whose professional abilities and leadership serve as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals.

The recipient of the 2019 ICC Fire Service Award is Jeff Shapiro, President of the International Code Consultants.

Previous Fire Service Award Winners

2018: Chief Tonya Hoover

2017: Gary Lewis

2016: Ronald S. Lilley

2015: Chief Joseph Finnegan

2014: Kelly Nicolello

2013: Fulton Cochran

2012: Joseph Sauerwein

2011: Ken Kraus

2010: Sean DeCrane

2009: Azarang "Ozzie" Mirkhah

2008: John F. Mueller

2007: Thomas Brace

2006: Robert Davidson

2005: Robert Weitzel

2004: Jackie Gibbs

2020 Code Council Award nominations are now being accepted. Click here.