State Adoptions

Codes are primarily adopted and enforced locally. Two state agencies adopt state minimum plumbing and electrical codes respectively. The State Architect adopts codes for all state-owned buildings and facilities (2018 IBC, IFC, IMC, IPC, IFGC, IECC, and IEBC). The Division of Fire Prevention and Control adopts and enforces codes for all public schools and junior colleges (2015 IBC, IRC, IFC, IMC, IEBC, IECC). The Colorado Examining Board of Plumbers has adopted the 2018 IPC, IFGC and plumbing chapters of the 2018 IRC as the state minimum plumbing code.

Links to State Adoption Agencies

Office of the State Architect

State Fire Marshal

State Energy Office

PMG Board/Commission

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Key Contacts

Office of the State Architect:
Larry Friedberg, State Architect, Director, AIA
1313 Sherman Street, Suite 319
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-3079
Fax: (303) 894-7478
larry.friedberg@state.co.us

State Fire Marshal:
Michael C. Morgan, Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
690 Kipling Street, Suite 2000
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: (303) 239-5865
mike.morgan@state.co.us

State Energy Officer:

Kathleen Staks, Executive Director
The Governor’s Energy Office
1580 Logan Street, Suite 100
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-2462
Fax: (303) 866-2930
Kathleen.Staks@state.co.us 

PMG Board/Commission:
Ronne Hines, Program Director
Department of Regulatory Agencies 
Board of Examining Plumbers
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: (303) 894-2300
Ronne.hines@dora.state.co.us 

State Insurance Commissioner:
Michael Conway, Interim Commissioner
Colorado Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: (303) 894-7499
Fax: (303) 894-7455 

State Forester:
Mike Lester, State Forester
Colorado State Forest Service
Foothills 5060 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523–5060
Phone: (970) 491–6303
mike.lester@lamar.colostate.edu

Pool Code Adoption Agency:
Patrick Pfaltzgraff, Director
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Water Quality Control Division
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-3509
Fax: (303) 782-0390
Patrick.pfaltzgraff@state.co.us
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/wq/index.html
State Board of Health: Regulations Pertaining To Swimming Pools and Mineral Baths