State Adoptions

Building Codes are adopted at the county and municipal level; however the 2015 IPC and IMC, and the 2018 IECC have been adopted at the state level.

  • 2018 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • 2015 International Plumbing Code

Links to State Adoption Agencies

Office of the State Fire Marshal

State Plumbing Code

State Energy Office/Green Buildings, Division of Energy & Climate

Key Contacts

State Fire Marshal:
Grover P. Ingle
Office of the State Fire Marshal
1537 Chestnut Grove Road
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 739-4394

Additional contact:
R. T. "Whitey" Leicht, Chief of Technical Services
2307 MacArthur Road
Newark, DE 19720
(302) 323-5365

State Plumbing Administrator:
Raymond Davidson
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
(302) 856-5496

State Energy Officer:
Robert Underwood
Energy Administrator
Depart. Of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Delaware Energy Office
1203 College Park Drive, Suite 101
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 735-3480

Green Buildings:
Philip J. Cherry, Policy Director
Depart. of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Office of the Secretary
89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901
(302) 739-9068