District of Columbia


View Digital Codes

Purchase District of Columbia Codes

Building regulations in DC are developed by Construction Codes Coordinating Board (CCCB) based on the codes published by the International Code Council. The CCCB has different technical advisory groups to address different codes and issues, and make recommendations to the CCCB for local amendments. Members of the CCCB are appointed by the Mayor. After the CCCB has voted on the regulations the proposed regulations are published for public review and comment, and, follow the rulemaking process, the final regulations are submitted by the Mayor  to the DC City Council for review and adoption. The final rules become effective upon publication in the DC Register. DCRA (Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs), is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the codes.

  • 2015 International Building Code
  • 2015 International Existing Building Code
  • 2015 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2015 International Fire Code
  • 2015 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2015 International Green Construction Code
  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • 2015 International Plumbing Code
  • 2015 International Property Maintenance Code
  • 2015 International Residential Code
  • 2015 International Swimming Pool and Spa Code


Links to State Adoption Agencies

Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs

Key Contacts

ICC Government Relations Representative
Jacob Karson
Government Relations Coordinator
E-mail: jkarson@iccsafe.org

DC Mayor
Mayor Muriel Bowser
Executive Office of the Mayor
John A. Wilson Building
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 727-2643

DC Council
Council of the District of Columbia
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004

DC Building Official
Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
1100 4th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 442-4400

Construction Codes Coordinating Board
Jill Stern, Chair
Construction Codes Coordinating Board (CCCB)
Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
1100 4th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 442-4400

DC Fire Official
Gregory Dean, Chief
Fire and EMS Department
2000 14th Street, NW, 500
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 673-3320

DC Energy Office
Department of Energy & Environment
Tommy Wells, Director
1200 First Street, NE
5th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 535-2600

District Insurance Commissioner
Department of Insurance, Securities, and Banking
Stephen Taylor, Commissioner
810 First Street, NE
Suite 701
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 727-8000

District Forester
Urban Forestry Administration
District Department of Transportation
55 M Street, SE
Suite 400
Washington, DC 20003
Phone: (202) 673-6813
Fax: (202) 671-0650
E-mail: ddot@dc.gov

Swimming Pool Licensing and Regulation
Dr. LaQuandra S. Nesbitt, Director
District Department of Health
899 North Capitol Street, NE,
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 442-5955