State Adoptions

The Iowa Code with amendments is based on the 2015 editions of the codes, except for the IMC which is the 2018 edition and the IECC which is the 2012 edition for state owned and rented structures. The IFC and IECC are required for all construction. Iowa is a home-rule state and local jurisdictions are not required to adopt the most current version of the Iowa Code.

Links to State Adoption Agencies

State Building Codes agency – State Fire Marshal

Iowa Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board

Key Contacts

State Building Official:
Rich Bolten, Acting Iowa Building Commissioner
Iowa Building Code Bureau
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
bolten@dep.state.ia.us
(515) 725-6145

State Fire Marshal:
Jeff Quigle
Iowa State Fire Marshal Division
215 E 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
quigle@dep.state.ia.us

State Insurance Commissioner:
Doug Ommen, Commissioner
Iowa Insurance Division
601 Locust St. - 4th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone 515-281-5705
Doug.Ommen@iid.iowa.gov
https://iid.iowa.gov/

State Forester:
Jeff Goerndt
Department of Natural Resources
Wallace Office Building
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone 515-725-8452
Jeff.Goerndt@dnr.iowa.gov

Pool adoption agency:
Iowa Department of Public Health
John Kelly, P.E., Environmental Engineer
Division of Environmental Health
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone 515- 724-9961
John.Kelly@idph.iowa.gov
https://idph.iowa.gov/

 

Plumbing code adoption agency:
Iowa Department of Public Health
Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Review Board
Kane Young, Executive Officer II
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa  50319-0075
Phone 866-281-7689
Kane.Young@idph.iowa.gov
http://idph.iowa.gov/PMSB