State Adoptions

View Digital Codes

Purchase Maryland Codes

Maryland's law related to building codes is called the Maryland Building Performance Standards (MBPS). It requires each jurisdiction in Maryland to use the same edition of the same building codes that are the International Building Code (IBC), the International Residential Code (IRC), and the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). The State has modified the IBC and the IRC to coincide with other Maryland laws. The International Building Code (IBC), the International Residential Code (IRC), and the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), with modifications by the State, constitute the Maryland Building Performance Standards (MBPS).


State adoption authority falls under the Department of Labor and, by statute, adoption must occur 18 months after a new code edition is issued. Local jurisdictions have an additional 12 months to make local amendments and enforce the most current version of the state adopted codes.


  • 2018 International Building Code
  • 2018 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2018 International Existing Building Code
  • 2012 International Green Construction Code
  • 2018 International Mechanical Code
  • 2018 International Plumbing Code
  • 2012 International Property Maintenance Code
  • 2018 International Residential Code
  • 2018 International Fuel Gas Code


Links to State Adoption Agencies

Codes Administration

State Fire Marshal

Energy Administration

Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene

Maryland Board of Plumbing

Key Contacts

ICC Government Relations Representative
Justin Wiley
Vice President, Government Relations

Maryland Codes Administration:
Norman Wang, RA, Director, Building Codes Administration
Division of Labor and Industry
MD Dept. of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation
100 Community Place
Crownsville, MD 21032
(410) 514-7444

State Fire Marshal:
Brian Geraci
1201 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 653-8980

State Energy Officer:
Mary Beth Tung, Director
Maryland Energy Administration
1623 Forest Drive, Suite 300
Annapolis, MD 21403
(410) 260-7655

Regulatory Boards:
State Fire Prevention Commission
12 N. Jonathan St., Suite 100
Hagerstown, MD 21740-4802
Phone: 877-890-0199
Fax: (301) 739-8785

State Forester:
John R. Griffin
Secretary of Natural Resources
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401-2397
Phone: (410) 260-8101
Fax: (410) 260-8111

Pool adoption agency:
Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D.
Secretary, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street
Baltimore, MD Keith Tobias
Phone: (410) 767-5783