State Adoptions

Effective August 1, 2014, the State of Mississippi has adopted as a minimum any of the last three editions of the International Building Code and any additional codes as adopted by the Mississippi Building Code Council. This means that jurisdictions must currently adopt either the 2009, 2012 or the 2015 International Building Code and other codes as required by the Mississippi Building Code Council. The Council requires along with the Building Code the 2012 IRC, IFC, IFGC, IMC and the IPC. Jurisdictions have 120 days after the effective date of August 1, 2014 to opt out of adoptions.

  • 2015 International Building Code
  • 2012 International Existing Building Code
  • 2015 International Fire Code
  • 2012 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2012 International Mechanical Code
  • 2012 International Plumbing Code
  • 2012 International Residential Code
  • 2003 International Energy Conservation Code


Links to State Adoption Agencies

State Fire Marshal

Building Energy Codes

Dept. of Health

Key Contacts

State Building Code Review Board
Mississippi Building Code Council
Bill Rodgers, President
Phone: 601-467-3457

Mississippi State Fire Marshal:
Ricky Davis
State Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Mississippi Insurance Department
1001 Woolfolk State Office Building
501 North West Street
Jackson, MS 39201

Building Energy Codes
Betty Norman
Bureau Manager
MS Development Authority
Energy Division
P.O. Box 849
Jackson, MS 39205-0849
PH: (601) 359-6600
FX: (601) 359-6642

State Insurance Commissioner
Mike Chaney
Mississippi Insurance Department
PO Box 79
Jackson, MS  39205-0079
Phone: (601) 359-3569

State Forester:
Charlie Morgan
State Forester
660 North Street, Suite 300
Jackson, MS 39202
Phone: (601) 359-2801 office
Fax: (601) 359-1349 fax
Mobile: (601) 259-8372 cell

Pool Adoption Agency:
Mississippi State Department of Health
General Environmental
PO Box 1700
Jackson, MS  39215-1700

Plumbing Code Adoption Agency:
Local adoptions