State Adoptions

Jurisdictions authorized by state law to adopt later editions of IBC, IRC, IMC, IPC, IFGC, IECC, IFC, and ISPSC.

  • 2003 International Building Code
  • 2000 International Residential Code (Municipalities)
  • 2006 International Residential Code (Counties)
  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • 2012 International Plumbing Code
  • 2012 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2015 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2006 International Fire Code
  • 2018 International Swimming Pool and Spa Code

Links to State Adoption Agencies

Texas Department of Insurance State Fire Marshal

State Energy Conservation Office

Texas dept. of Insurance

Texas Forest Service

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation

Key Contacts

Texas Department of Insurance - State Fire Marshal:
Orlando Hernandez, State Fire Marshal
333 Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: (512) 676-6800
Fire.Marshal@tdi.state.tx.us

 

State Energy Conservation Office:
Dub Taylor, Director
111 E. 17th Street, #314
Austin, TX 78774
Phone: (512) 463-8352

dub.taylor@cpa.texas.gov

 

Texas Department of Insurance:
Kent Sullivan, Commissioner of Insurance
333 Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78701

Phone: (512) 676-6020

kent.sullivan@tdi.texas.gov

Texas Forest Service:
Tom Boggus, State Forester
200 Technology Way, Suite 1281
College Station, TX  77845-3424
(979) 458-6600
tboggus@tfs.tamu.edu

Plumbing Code Adoption Agency
Legislature and Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
Lisa Hill, Executive Director
929 East 41st St.
Austin, TX 78751
Phone: (512) 936-5233

lisa.hill@tsbpe.texas.gov

Other Adoptions Agencies and Boards
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation:

Brian Francis, Executive Director

920 Colorado
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-3171
brian.francis@tdlr.texas.gov

 

Texas Industrialized Building Code Council

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Industrialized Housing and Buildings:
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

(512) 539-5735

IHBTech@tdlr.texas.gov