State Adoptions

View Digital Codes

Purchase Arkansas Codes

Arkansas currently uses the 2012 AR Fire Prevention Code based on the 2012 IFC, IBC and IRC. The 2018 AR Plumbing Code based on the 2018 IPC and the 2018 AR Fuel Gas Code based on the 2006 IFGC. The 2010 AR Mechanical Code is based on the 2009 International Mechanical Code.

  • 2012 International Building Code
  • 2012 International Residential Code
  • 2009 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2012 International Fire Code
  • 2018 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2009 International Mechanical Code
  • 2018 International Plumbing Code

Links to State Adoption Agencies

Arkansas Insurance Department

Arkansas Department of Health

Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing

Arkansas State Fire Marshal

Arkansas Energy Office

Arkansas Forestry Commission

Key Contacts

ICC Government Relations Representative
Kelly Sadler
Senior Regional Manager

Arkansas Insurance Department:
Alan McClain, Insurance Commissioner
1200 West Third Street
Little Rock, AR 72201-1904
Phone: (501) 371-2600 or 1-800-282-9134

Plumbing and Fuel Gas Adoption:
Arkansas Department of Health
Protective Health Codes
Ric Mayhan, Manager of Plumbing and Natural Gas Section
4815 W. Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867
Phone: (501) 661-2642
Protective Health Codes Arkansas Department of Health

Mechanical Adoption:
Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing
Anthony Woodard
900 West Capitol Avenue
Little Rock, AR 72201-3108
Phone: (501) 682-4500


Arkansas Fire Prevention Code Adoption:
Arkansas Department of Public Safety - Regulatory & Building Operations Division
Major Lindsey Williams, State Fire Marshal
One State Police Plaza Dr.
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone: (501) 618-8601
Regulatory & Building - Arkansas Department of Public Safety

Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment - Office of Energy:
Mitchell Simpson, Associate Director
5301 Northshore Drive
North Little Rock, AR 72118-5317
Phone: (501) 682-7379
Office of Energy | DEQ (


Arkansas Department of Agriculture -  Forestry Division:
Joe Fox, State Forester
1 Natural Resources Drive
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: (501) 225-1598
Forestry - Arkansas Department of Agriculture