Download the PDF version of this News Release.

ICC News Release
For Immediate Release
Aug. 5, 2014
Contact: Steve Daggers
1-888-ICC-SAFE (1-888-422-7233),

Code Council Applauds HUD Final Rule Requiring Smoke Alarms in Subsidized Housing for the Elderly and Disabled

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has issued a Final Rule that adds a requirement for smoke detectors/alarms to be included in its regulations for subsidized housing for the elderly and disabled. The Final Rule, which goes into effect on July 22, requires all sleeping units and other areas to be equipped with smoke alarms that adhere to the multi-family standards outlined in the International Building, Residential, Existing Building and Property Maintenance Codes developed by the International Code Council (ICC).

“This is a significant action taken by HUD in an effort to safeguard some of our most vulnerable citizens,” said Ronald Piester, AIA, President of the International Code Council Board of Directors. “The HUD rule supports the work of thousands of ICC Members and Code Officials across the country who are dedicated to improving safety in the built environment.”

The only new requirement established by the final rule is that owners provide a smoke detector and alarm in every bedroom or primary sleeping area, the HUD rule states. Though the requirement is new to the program regulations, the requirement is supportive of the R2-R4 multifamily standards in the International Building Code, the International Residential, Existing Building and Property Maintenance Codes that apply in the vast majority of jurisdictions in the country through state or local adoption.

“Recognition by HUD speaks to the outstanding job ICC Members and others involved in our Code Development Process have done to ensure safety in the built environment,” said ICC CEO Dominic Sims. “Actions such as this bring us closer to achieving our goal of helping to build safe, resilient, accessible and affordable communities.”

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.