blankblankICC on YouTube blankTweet This blankSend to Linkedin blankSend to Facebook blankblank blankICC Codes & Standards Discussion Forum
ICC News Release
For Immediate Release
November 15, 2016
Contact: Trey Hughes
1-888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233), ext. 5237

Code Council Honors Building and Fire Safety Professionals

Recognition Includes Fowler Award, Code Official and Fire Official of the Year

The International Code Council honored several industry professionals for their contributions to a safe, affordable and resilient built environment during its 2016 Annual Conference and Group B Public Comment Hearings in Kansas City, Mo.

International Code Council Board of Directors Immediate Past President Alex Olszowy (pictured right) presents the Bobby J. Fowler Award to Seattle Principal Engineer/Building Official Jonathan C. Siu.

Jonathan C. Siu, Principal Engineer/Building Official for the city of Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections, was presented the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award. The Fowler Award honors the memory of the first ICC Board Chairman who led the charge to consolidate three regional model code organizations into one association, the Code Council. Through 30 years of public service, Siu has contributed countless hours working to improve the safety of the built environment both at a national and regional level.

Richard Witt, Building Official in Chesterfield County, Va., was the recipient of the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award. Witt has been instrumental in the expansion and growth of the Virginia Building Code Academy and works tirelessly to recognize code officials and recommend them for code development committee and other industry service.

Goodyear, Ariz., Fire Captain Ronald S. Lilley was presented the ICC Fire Service Award. Lilley led an overhaul of the Goodyear Fire Prevention Division and created the volunteer Fire Prevention Assistance Program (FPAT) that is designed to complete and process low hazard fire inspections for local businesses.

Presenting the Code Official Year Award to Richard Witt (pictured second from right) are Code Council Chief Executive Officer Dominic Sims (left), Gerald H. Brown (second from left), and Code Council Board of Directors Awards Committee Chairman Jeff Bechtold (right).

Michael J. Graham was the recipient of the ICC Affiliate Award. Graham recognized early on in his career that effective flood management helps to lessen the devastating effects of water-borne destruction, and was a founding member of the New Jersey Association of Floodplain Management.

The city of Newport Beach, Calif., Building Division was presented the ICC Community Service Award. The city’s Building Division has a strong commitment to serving residents and local businesses, including providing guaranteed next day inspections and 80 percent of plan review requests completed at the counter.

The Association of Minnesota Building Officials was named Chapter of the Year, the top award given to an ICC Chapter for exemplary performance in promoting the goals and mission of the Code Council. Chapter Merit Awards also were presented to the Missouri Association of Building Officials and Inspectors, the New Jersey Building Officials Association, and the Virginia Building and Code Officials Association.

Code Council Board of Directors Awards Committee Chairman Jeff Bechtold (pictured right) presents the Fire Service Award to Goodyear, Ariz., Fire Captain Ronald S. Lilley.

The ICC Educator of the Year Award, recognizing excellence in education and promoting professional development among ICC Members, was presented to Folsom, Calif., Chief Building Official Steve Burger.

The Raising the Profile Award went to Yasmeen Sami Saadah, Division Director of Municipal Regulations for the Abu Dhabi Municipality, United Arab Emirates, and who recently was the Head of the Sustainability Unit, Town Planning, also in Abu Dhabi.

Standard Bearers Awards, presented jointly by the Code Council and the Institute for Market Transformation, highlight states, cities and individuals who lead the way in energy code compliance. The state recipient was the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs, Energy Division; the Local Jurisdiction winner was the city of Chula Vista, Calif.; and the Energy Code Leader was Darren Meyers of Tinley Park, Ill.


About the International Code Council

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.