blankblankICC on YouTube blankTweet This blankSend to Linkedin blankSend to Facebook blankblank blankICC Codes & Standards Discussion Forum
For Immediate Release
Oct.  17, 2014
Contact: Steve Daggers
1-888-ICC-SAFE (1-888-422-7233), ext. 4212

ICC Members Elect 2014-2015 Board Officers, Directors

International Code Council (ICC) Members elected Board Officers and Directors during the association's Annual Business Meeting at the 2014 Annual Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Immediate Past President Stephen D. Jones (left), President Guy Tomberlin, Vice President Alex “Cash” Olszowy III, Secretary/Treasurer Dwayne Garriss

Guy Tomberlin, Chief of the Residential/Light Commercial Inspections Branch of the Fairfax County Department of Public Works and Environmental Services, was elected President of the 2014-2015 ICC Board of Directors. A certified building official, Tomberlin has been active in code compliance since 1985.

Alex “Cash” Olszowy III, Building Inspection Supervisor for the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government in Lexington, Ky., was elected Vice President of the ICC Board. Olszowy has been with the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government since 1997 following a successful career in the construction industry.

Georgia State Fire Marshal M. Dwayne Garriss was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the ICC Board. Garriss’ office oversees building inspections and engineering, manufactured housing inspections, hazardous materials inspections, elevators, boilers, pressure vessels and licensing in the state of Georgia.

Re-elected and newly elected ICC Board Directors William J. Bechtold (left), Richard C. Truitt Sr., James E. Morganson, Jay Elbettar, Alan Boswell and M. Donny Phipps

Mission Viejo Building Official Jay Elbettar was re-elected to a three-year term as a Sectional Director representing the states of Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon and Washington; and the Canadian Province of British Columbia. He has been involved in code enforcement for more than 30 years.

Richard C. Truitt Sr., Deputy Code Director for Harford County, Md., was re-elected to a three-year term as a Sectional Director representing the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia; Washington, D.C.; and the Canadian Provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec. Truitt administers programs for issuing, maintaining and controlling licenses and permits. The Governor of Maryland appointed him to the Maryland Rehabilitation Code Council and the Maryland Green Building Council.

William J. Bechtold, James E. Morganson and M. Donny Phipps were elected to three-year terms as Directors at Large.

Bechtold is the Senior Building Official for Kenton County, Ky. He is charged with both plans examinations and field inspections in all phases of construction except for plumbing and electrical. The Governor of Kentucky appointed him to a two-year term to the Single-Family Dwelling Advisory Committee for Kentucky’s Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction.

Morganson is the Code Enforcement Officer, Fire Marshal and Zoning Administrator for the Village of Lake Placid/Town of North Elba, N.Y. He played an instrumental role in the State of New York transitioning to ICC’s family of codes and has 27 years of service in the code enforcement industry.

Phipps is Director of Building Codes and Inspections for Richland County, S.C. He has been active with code enforcement organizations throughout South Carolina for more than 30 years. He is a certified building official and floodplain manager.

Alan Boswell, Chief Building Official for Tuscaloosa, Ala., was elected to a two-year term filling a seat vacated by Garriss' election as Secretary/Treasurer. Boswell is a Master Code Professional. He also has served as a past officer with the Code Officials Association of Alabama, and has been honored by the state legislature for his work as a code official.

“Those who serve as volunteers on the Code Council Board of Directors are leaders in the profession who devote their time, energy and expertise to ensure public safety in the built environment,” said ICC Chief Executive Officer Dominic Sims. “We thank them for their leadership, and we thank their local jurisdictions for supporting their service.”


About us: The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.