blankblankICC on YouTube blankTweet This blankSend to Linkedin blankSend to Facebook blankblank blankICC Codes & Standards Discussion Forum

For Immediate Release
May 1, 2014
Contact: Steve Daggers
1-888-ICC-SAFE (1-888-422-7233),

ICC Seeks to Honor Deserving Individuals, Organizations

2014 awards will recognize accomplishments and service to
ICC and building safety


     Do you know an outstanding person or organization deserving to be recognized for efforts to promote safety in the built environment? Each year the International Code Council honors outstanding service and achievements that contribute to saving lives, protecting property and creating resilient communities.

Nominations now are being accepted for the Code Council’s annual awards in several categories to honor accomplishments and service to ICC and safety in the built environment. The deadline to submit nominations for ICC Awards is the close of business on July 1, 2014. Nomination forms and award criteria are available at: Nominations may be emailed, mailed or faxed. Any enclosures in addition to the form must be sent in multiples of seven for committee review.

ICC is accepting nominations for awards in the following categories:

Bobby J. Fowler Award: Named in honor of the first chairman of the ICC Board of Directors and visionary for the consolidation of the model code industry, the award is presented to an individual whose contributions to the building safety industry advance ICC’s goals of achieving a safer environment.

Gerald H. Jones Code Official of The Year Award: Given to an individual whose contribution to the code compliance profession is meritorious and worthy of recognition.

Raising the Profile Award: Recognizes an individual or organization for contributions that raise public awareness of accomplishments by code personnel who improve public safety in the built environment.

ICC Affiliate Award: Presented to a member of the building industry who consistently demonstrates integrity, professionalism and dedication in his or her services to the profession, and whose personal standards represent the spirit of public service to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety.

ICC Community Service Award: Presented when circumstances warrant recognizing meritorious service by an individual, organization, jurisdiction or community group that promotes the public health, safety and welfare by initiating activities or actions considered above and beyond normal expectations.

ICC Fire Service Award: Given to an ICC member whose service, professional abilities and leadership have been exemplary in the development of the ICC fire code and have served as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals.

ICC Policy Maker of the Year Award: Given to a legislator or policy maker who, through exceptional measures in public service, made a significant contribution to the advancement of building and fire code enactment, and compliance consistent with the goals adopted by ICC membership in achieving a safer and more sustainable built environment.

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.