ICC News Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Madison Neal
November 10, 2020
(202) 754-1173
International Code Council honors extraordinary building safety professionals during special virtual awards event
These individuals and organizations are recognized for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council

Washington, D.C. – The International Code Council honored outstanding individuals and organizations for their accomplishments and service to their communities, the building safety industry and the Code Council at a special virtual awards event during the inaugural ICC Learn Live. Visit the recently launched 2020 Awards webpage that contains full profiles of the award recipients.

The Robert W. Gain Fire Prevention Leadership Award is presented annually to recognize career achievement by an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and longstanding dedication in support of fire codes and fire prevention. This prestigious award honors the memory of Chief Robert W. Gain. The recipient of the 2020 Robert W. Gain Fire Prevention Leadership Award is Lee Wheeler, Retired Fire Chief from the Renton, Washington, Fire Department.

ICC Excellence in Public Safety Award is awarded to a member of the building industry who consistently demonstrates the qualities of integrity, professionalism and dedication in his or her services to the profession and whose personal standards represent the spirit of public service to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety. The award is presented in honor of four individuals who exemplified the qualities cited for granting this award: Ron Burton, John Fies, Wilbur H. Lind and Alton Riddick. The recipient of the 2020 Public Safety Award is Steven Tafoya, Building Official/Director for the Fayette County, Georgia, Department of Building Safety.

ICC Community Service Award recognizes outstanding service that promotes public health, safety and welfare. The 2020 recipient is the Mansfield, Texas, Volunteer Program.

Educator of the Year Award recognizes excellence in promoting professional development. The award is given in memory of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator and Past Presiding Officer, for his calm and inspiring leadership. The 2020 Educator of the Year is Charles Clawson, Founder of Building Professionals Institute and Development Services Director for the City of Arlington, Texas.

The Chapter of the Year Award recognizes extraordinary performance by a chapter in promoting the goals and mission of the Code Council. The 2020 recipient is the Code Official Association of Alabama for its work to ensure consistent code enforcement throughout all areas of Alabama and its scholarship program to encourage and assist those attending college or trade school.

The Chapter Merit Award recognizes chapters that distinguish themselves through activities demonstrating the Code Council’s goals and objectives. The Oregon Permit Technicians Association is recognized this year for its commitment to member education, service to their respective communities and its efforts to promote Building Safety Month.

Raising the Profile Award recognizes an individual or organization for acts or contributions that raise the public awareness of code personnel that improve public safety in the built environment. The 2020 Raising the Profile Award recipient is Joel A. Dramis for his work as Building Code Administrator for the City of Port St. Lucie, Florida, Building Department.

PMG Leadership Award recognizes an individual or organization for exceptional service to the plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas and swimming pool/spa (PMG) industry. The Code Council’s 2020 PMG Leadership Award recipient is Richard Grace, Code Specialist for Fairfax County, Virginia.

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy espousing the principles of the Code Council Sustainability Membership Council. The 2020 recipients are Brad Smith and the City of Santa Monica.

Meritorious Service Award is granted to an individual who has given unselfishly of time and talent in furthering the development of ICC codes and standards. The 2020 Meritorious Service Award recipient is posthumously awarded to Jim. W. Sealy, a formerly self-employed architect. He is awarded, respectfully, for his practice of architecture in several prestigious firms where he became actively involved in building codes, life safety, and construction industry standards.

The Code Council congratulates all the 2020 award recipients. To read the full profiles of the award recipients, click here.


About the International Code Council

The International Code Council is the leading global source of model codes and standards and building safety solutions. Code Council codes, standards and solutions are used to ensure safe, affordable and sustainable communities and buildings worldwide.