International Plumbing Code (IPC) Home Page

International Plumbing Code (IPC) Home Page

International Plumbing Code (IPC) Home Page


Overview of the IPC

The International Plumbing Code (IPC) is a proven, comprehensive model plumbing code that works seamlessly with ICC's family of building codes. It sets minimum regulations for plumbing systems and components to protect life, health and safety of building occupants and the public. The IPC is available for adoption by jurisdictions ranging from states to towns, and is currently adopted on the state or local level in 35 states in the U.S.

The IPC is built on the proven legacy of the BOCA National Plumbing Code, SBCCI Standard Plumbing Code, and ICBO Plumbing Code.

The IPC sets minimum regulations for plumbing systems using both prescriptive and performance-related provisions covering topics such as:

  • Backflow prevention
  • Fixtures & fittings
  • Water supply and distribution piping
  • Water heaters
  • Sanitary drainage and venting
  • Traps, grease interceptors & separators
  • Storm drainage
  • Nonpotable water systems (rainwater, gray water, reclaimed water)

Today's IPC is known for:

  • Safety – It has a proven track record providing safe and sanitary plumbing installations.
  • Ease of Use – The IPC uses the same easy-to-use format provided in all I-Codes
  • Embrace of New Technology - The IPC and its predecessors have a tradition of innovation while protecting the health and safety of the public.
  • Correlation – The IPC is specifically correlated to work with ICC's family of codes.
  • Open and Honest Code Development Process - The IPC is revised on a three year cycle through ICC's highly-respected consensus code development process that draws upon the expertise of hundreds of plumbing, building and safety experts from across North America.

Code Development

Current Version: 2015 IPC

The 2015 IPC is not available for purchase and adoption along with the family of correlated 2015 family of I-Codes (except the 2015 IgCC).

Upcoming Version: 2018 IPC Development

Development of the 2018 International Plumbing Code will take place as part of the Group A Codes in the calendar year 2015. Applications for the 2018 Code Committees have been collected and are being processed. Appointments to the 2018 Code Committees are anticipated in the Fall of 2014. Code change proposals for Group A Codes (which includes the IPC) will be accepted in November, 2014, and will be due January 2015 (see the code development schedule for details). All proposals must be submitted using cdpACCESS.

  • Click here for the 2018 Code Development Schedule
  • Click here for cdpACCESS. Learn more about ICC's new web-based code development process called cdpACCESS.
Get Involved

Adoptions of the IPC

IPC-MapCurrently, 35 states plus Washington DC, Puerto Rico, and Guam  adopt the 2012, 2009, 2006, 2003 or 2000 versions of the International Plumbing Code (IPC) at the state or local level.  Click on the links below for more detailed information.

As a model code, the IPC is intended to be adopted in accordance with the laws and procedures of a governmental jurisdiction.  When adopting a model code like the IPC, some jurisdictions amend the code in the process to reflect local practices and laws.  Click here for additional code adoption resources and for sample adoption ordinances.


Certification of Personnel

ICC offers certification programs for inspectors, examiners, contractors and trades to the International Plumbing Code. Current certification programs specifically designed for the IPC include:

  • Residential Plumbing Inspector (P1), Commercial Plumbing Inspector (P2), Plumbing Plans Examiner (P3)
  • National Standard Master Plumber (672, N24), National Standard Journeyman Plumber (673, N25), National Standard Master Plumber with Gas (674), National Standard Journeyman Plumber with Gas (675), National Standard Residential Plumber (676)

Product Certification through ICC-ES

The ICC-ES PMG Listing Program assists code enforcement professionals to determine whether plumbing products comply with codes and applicable standards. The ICC-ES program provides comprehensive coverage of codes and standards as well as compliance with the IgCC (International Green Construction Code), green rating systems, WaterSense, ICC-ES Evaluation Guidelines and even Canadian accreditation.

  • PMG Listing Directory – Provides detail on all products certified by ICC-ES PMG.
  • Listing Criteria - PMG listing criteria can be developed when there are no consensus standards or equivalent available for a product seeking to become certified to the IPC.
  • WaterSense – ICC-ES PMG is a licensed certifying body to the U.S. EPA WaterSense program for water closets, lavatory faucets, showerheads, urinals and weather-based irrigation controllers.

Technical Opinions

Staff Code Opinions and Committee Interpretations are intended to provide technical support and clarification of code text for adopting jurisdictions, design professionals, and members of the construction industry. Technical Opinions on codes and standards are an exclusive benefit of ICC Membership.


Training and Education for the IPC

ICC provides a full suite of training courses geared specifically for the IPC. ICC instructors provide hands-on, practical problem-solving training and are available to teach on-site single- or multiday courses.  For more information click here or call 888-ICC-SAFE (888-422-7233), ext. 33818.

2006 IPC Fundamentals0.6
2006 IPC Performing Commercial Plumbing Inspections1.8
2006 IPC Transition From the 1997 UPC0.6
2006 IPC Update0.3
2009 IPC Design, Installation and Inspection Principles0.6
2009 IPC Performing Commercial Plumbing Inspections1.2
2009 IPC Update0.3
2009 IPC/ IMC/ IFGC Significant Changes0.6
2012 IPC Design, Installation, Inspection Principles0.6
2012 IPC Update0.3
2012 Transition from the 2006: Plumbing, Mechanical, Fuel Gas0.6
Significant Changes to the International Plumbing, Mechanical and Fuel Gas Codes, 2012 Edition0.
Get Involved

Committees and Councils Associated with the IPC

ICC operates a number of committees and councils related to the development and maintenance of codes and standards. There are several that relate specifically to the IPC. Click here for information on the full range of current technical committees.

PMG Membership Council (PMGMC). A group that serves as a forum for discussion, networking, and feedback to Council leadership on issues of importance to the plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas, and swimming pool community within ICC.  It also takes on projects and initiatives to advance and support these disciplines.  Open to all ICC members who may join at any time.

PMG Code Action Committee (PMGCAC). Discipline-specific body that acts as a forum for complex technical issues ahead of the Code Development Process. The PMGCAC identifies emerging issues or drafts proposed code changes of importance to ICC Members relating to the plumbing, mechanical or fuel gas disciplines. Open to participation by any member, voting members of the CAC must apply during open calls for applicants.

International Plumbing/Private Sewage Code Committee (IPC-IPSDC). Technical committee responsible for hearing proposed changes to the International Plumbing Code and International Private Sewage Code during the Committee Action Hearing phase of the code development process. Prospective members of the IPC-IPSDC must apply during open calls for applicants.

Click here for all open call for committees.  To receive timely news about open calls for committees and councils and their activities, consider signing up for ICC’s free ICC eNews electronic newsletter.  Click here for subscription information and archives of past issues.

Plan Review Institute Ad