What is PMG?

ICC uses the acronym to refer to ICC’s model codes, standards, services and resources related to plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas and swimming pools/spas topics.

Originally, PMG stood for Plumbing, Mechanical, and Fuel Gas. But with the release of the International Swimming Pool and Spa Code® (ISPSC®) in 2012, it has expanded to include pools and spas.

ICC’s model PMG codes include the IPC, IMC, IFGC and ISPSC. Learn more about each code:

International Plumbing Code Book Cover

International Mechanical Code Book Cover

International Fuel Gas Code Book Cover

International Swimming Pool & Spa Code Book Cover

These members of ICC’s family of coordinated codes are used by communities nationwide to protect health, safety and welfare within buildings. Communities chose ICC’s PMG codes because they know ICC offers a superior family of codes, developed through a fair and transparent consensus process.

Current Versions: 2018 PMG Codes

  • Purchase the 2018 Plumbing and HVAC Code Collection.
  • Purchase the Significant Changes to the IPC, IMC and IFGC, 2018 Version.

Upcoming Version: 2021 PMG Code Development

The International Plumbing Code and other PMG I-Codes provisions provide many benefits, among which is the model code development process that offers an international forum for residential construction professionals to discuss prescriptive code requirements. This forum provides an excellent arena to debate proposed revisions.


Adoptions of PMG Codes

Nearly every state in the country adopts at least one of ICC's PMG codes at the state or local level. Click on the links below for more detailed information.

While many jurisdictions adopt the PMG model codes without changes, some jurisdictions amend them to reflect unique local practices, laws and issues.

Get Involved