The International Code Council Annual Awards Program

The International Code Council presents awards in several categories each year to honor individuals and organizations for their accomplishments and service to the Code Council and the building safety industry. These awards will be presented at various events, including but not limited to the Code Council Annual Conference, which generally take place in the fall.

News release: International Code Council honors extraordinary building safety professionals during special virtual awards event

The following awards are presented by the International Code Council:

The Bobby J. Fowler Award is the most prestigious award presented by the International Code Council. The Fowler Award honors the memory of the first chairman of the ICC Board of Directors who led the charge to consolidate three regional model code organizations into one association.

The Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award is given to an individual whose contributions advance the code enforcement profession and mission of the Code Council. The award is presented in honor of the founders of the three model code organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement, and Phil Roberts.

The Robert W. Gain Fire Prevention Leadership Award  is presented annually to recognize career achievement by an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and longstanding dedication in support of fire codes and fire prevention. This prestigious award honors the memory of Chief Robert W. Gain, known as the “father of the Uniform Fire Code.”

The ICC Educator of the Year Award recognizes excellence in promoting professional development. The award is given in memory of Brent Snyder, a renowned Code Council educator, for his calm and inspiring leadership.

The ICC Community Service Award recognizes outstanding service that promotes public health, safety and welfare.

The ICC Meritorious Service Award is granted to an individual who has given unselfishly of time and talent in furthering the development of ICC codes and standards.

The ICC Chapter of the Year Award recognizes extraordinary performance by a chapter in promoting the goals and mission of ICC.

The ICC Chapter Merit Awards recognize chapters that distinguish themselves through activities demonstrating ICC’s goals and objectives.

The ICC Regions Spotlight Award is presented to a regional chapter that has demonstrated strong cooperation, community service and growth.

The National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy espousing the principles of the ICC Sustainability Membership Council and the Institute for Market Transformation.

The ICC Raising the Profile Award recognizes an individual or organization for acts or contributions that raise the public awareness of accomplishments by code personnel that improve public safety in the built environment.

New! The ICC Trailblazer Award, established in 2021, seeks to inspire the Code Council membership to reach out and serve as mentors to guide others in their code-related careers, especially those who are relatively new to the professions. Based on the nominations sent in by ICC members and chapters, the Trailblazer Award will annually recognize an outstanding example of a recent mentor-mentee relationship. The award deadline is June 1, 2021. Please fill out and submit the 2021 Trailblazer Award Application.

The Excellence in Public Safety Award is given to a member of the building industry who demonstrates integrity, professionalism, and dedication to public service in the interest of public safety.

The  Global Membership Award, established in 2012, recognizes and honors an extraordinary contribution that furthers the global interests of the ICC and its’ members.

The ICC Government Relations Innovation in Code Administration Award recognizes fire and building organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services in their communities. 2021 Innovation in Code Administration Award Application. The Award Deadline is June 30, 2021.

The ICC President's Award honors an individual or group that makes an exceptional contribution to the goals, vision and mission of the International Code Council.

PMG Leadership Award is given to an individual or organization for exceptional service to the plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas and swimming pool/spa (PMG) industry.

2021 Leadership in Sustainability Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the growth and enhancement of codes or public policy advancing the principles of the International Code Council Sustainability Membership Council (SMC), in the field of energy efficiency and/or sustainability in the built environment. This award deadline is June 1, 2021. Please submit the 2021 Leadership in Sustainability Award application.

2021 Code Council Honorary Members are recognized for their outstanding service to the Code Council. The Honorary Member Committee will consider submitted nomination swhen compiling its list of candidates. To nominate someone as an Honorary Member, please email Karla Price Higgs, Vice President, Member Services, the following information: Name, Title, Organization, and a brief statement why you should be considered for honorary membership. We have extended the deadline to submit nominations to June 1, 2021.