The Building Membership Council is open to all ICC Members and will serve the needs of Building and others in code enforcement. You'll have an opportunity to discuss issues that you face as a community, and how ICC might best serve you.

If you're looking to get more involved in the building community, network with peers, enhance your profession and career, and influence the direction of ICC to your benefit, enroll in the Building Membership Council today. Simply fill out the enrollment form, and ICC will be in touch with more details. The Governing Committee serves to actively engage Members in discussions about priorities and opportunities for the direction of the Council.


The purpose of the Council shall be to enhance professionalism and advocate for concerns and issues that are of particular interest to building officials, to assist ICC in increasing the participation of such individuals in the ICC Code development process, and to advise ICC on programs and policies, legislative matters, code adoption issues and such other matters as the Council deems appropriate


Current Membership Council events.

Governing Committee of the ICC Building Membership Council

Dan Dockery, Chair; City Winston-Salem, NC
Ed Lisinski, Vice-Chair; City of West Allis, WI

Matt Archer, City of Lone Tree, CO
Audrey Cline, Town of Durham, NH
Doug Maples, Leon County, FL
Mark Matheny, City of Ashville, NC
Christopher McWhite, City of Lowell, MA
Michael Metcalf, Plaquemines Parish, LA
Steve Nordhues, City of Norfolk, NE
Michael Olson, City of McGregor, TX
Amrinder Singh, Municipality of Norristown, PA
Martin Van Gundy, City of North Canton, OH
James Williamette, City of St. Paul, MN
Doug Wise, Palm Beach County, FL


ICC Staff Liaison

Bill Nash, Senior Regional Manager, Government Relations; Middletown, RI

ICC Board Liaison

Ron Hampton, MCP, CBO, ICC Board of Directors;
Field Inspector, Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction; Commonwealth of Kentucky

Questions on the Council? Contact Karla Higgs.


Upcoming Building Membership Council meetings/events

BMC Governing Committee - Next meeting:  Please check back soon for the next meeting date.

Continuity & Outreach Subcommittee - Check back soon for the next meeting date.

Raise The Profile Subcommittee - Check back soon for our next meeting date.

Communities Building Best Practices & Innovation Subcommittee - Next meeting: Wednesday, May 26, 2021; 3:00 PM ET.  Check back soon to view the agenda.


Call for BMC Subcommittee Membership 2021

The Building Membership Council has three subcommittees.  Continuity & Outreach Subcommittee (C&O) membership is limited to Membership Council Governing Committee members.   The Raise The Profile (RTP) and the Communities Building Best Practices & Innovation (CBBPI) subcommittees are looking for volunteer members.  Please consider joining one of these important subcommittees. 

Please click here to review the description of each subcommittee.

Please click here to apply to be on a BMC subcommittee.



The Innovation in Code Administration Award

The International Code Council Government Relations Innovation in Code Administration Awards Program recognizes fire and building organizations for innovation in the delivery of code administration services in their communities.

Click on link below, now accepting applications.  Deadline is June 30, 2019.

Boost Employee Morale During COVID-19

ICC Code Chat Forums

Want to comment on the latest Building Membership Council news and discuss related building activities?  Visit ICC's discussion forums today!